Basic Seamanship: How to make a red Monkey Fist Knot By using a BOSUN'S KNOT

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Friends !

20170712_200356.jpg

Today I will show you an alternative to monkey fist knot

I have written in another post on how to make a monkey fist knot and the purpose of one of those knots:

https://steemit.com/knots/@cynetyc/basic-seamanship-making-a-monkey-s-fist-knot

In most of the vessels that I traveled with, I always found a panel or a book in bosun store where it was shown the basic seamanship knots that are often used on a vessel , but not every time I found this variation of the knot.

For starters the knot is not made on a human fist nor it looks like a fist at all (it looks like a pear to me)...maybe only if you have twisted imagination.

20171023_114848.jpg

Procedure:

  • take a metal of a weight with an metallic hook as an extremity
  • make a basket net or a Basket weave knot on top of it
  • paint it in any color that you like (in our case red was used to attract attention)

Now you can either put a already made net or I the best seamanship practice is to make the basket weave knot yourself.

Basket weave knot or Bosun's knot:

A basket weave knot can be tied from a single strand by first forming a bight in the middle of the line.
The ends near the bight become the standing ends.

The method that I like is to make a cross and then circles around it and then connect the circles one by one.

20171023_114811.jpg

As shown in the photo you can see the original three strands

20171023_114818.jpg

20171023_114830.jpg

Now you dip it in red paint!

20171024_115621.jpg

And VOILA you got yourself a red monkey fist! Congratulations!

222222222222222222222.png

I hope my guide was useful, I am Cynetyc and I approve this message!

Sort:  

wow this is fantastic job.
thanks for information.

Thank you very much @mithuj!

Great job
wonderful photography...../////

Thank you @asif4745 for having an interest in my small article!

Amazing post really nice & mind touch blog😁..I like this👌.😍😍


Thank you very much @depu I for your nice and creative comment!

Very Nice Photography..//..//..//
this is fantastic job............///////////

1st one is the best one!!
its too good!!

wow.....that's a beautiful photography...Thank's for sharing

thank you very much

wow this is so fascinating to learn

The name suits for itself and nice job done buddy !

Great job...Really wonderful photography.thanks for information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55