A Visit to Esmahan Sultan Mosque Near My Town

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

mosque.png

Greetings!

So on a sunny day I took a short walk with my friend @alex1923.

20180409_144148.jpg

We walked around the city of Mangalia looking for some places to make cool photos and we found a Mosque that was open ...

20180409_150205.jpg

With respect we asked if it was possible to enter and make a photo or two...and we received the OK

20180409_150053.jpg

The Esmahan Sultan Mosque in Mangalia is the oldest Muslim cult site in Romania that was built in 1575.

20180409_145438.jpg

20180409_145536.jpg

20180409_145522.jpg

20180409_145513.jpg

20180409_145424.jpg

The Mosque is surrounded by a Mohammedan cemetery containing tombs that are 300 years old. All of that in the heart of the city, Mangalia.

20180409_150027.jpg

The Mosque was built in the year of 1575 by the daughter of Sultan Selim II (1566-1574), who was the wife of Sokollu Mehmed Pasha, his father's vizier ("Vizir" in Romanian...it was like a minister in the Ottoman Empire )

20180409_150036.jpg

20180409_150047.jpg

Well I hope you liked this small history lesson, I am Cynetyc and we shall see each other in a future post!

me.png

Sort:  

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

Thank you very much @netzachh , much appreciated!

It's made in 1575, well the architecture looks like of yesterday, I sometimes get confused how they made such giant and beautiful structures those days when there weren't that much of resources available, they really were master minds and great artists, we Muslims go to Mosques for prayers and achieve inner peace, hope you achieved inner peace there.

This mosque was restored few times as Mangalia ( old historic name Callatis) and Constanta (Tomis) are actually historical places (cities) ...so much that some buildings in Constanta have to either stop constructing or make a place underneath them with glass ( like in a museum) where people can see archaeologic findings like old pottery .

Well it seems lot intresting, hope I will one day visit there

That was a very beautiful place thanks @cynetyc!

Thank you @mindlock for appreciating my work !

Very nice photos and good history lesson !

But what happend to your hand there @cynetyc?
It looks like the ¨thing¨ that Flash is doing from dc comics.

Ha ha ha ...Yeah I think I moved my hand in an instant and the camera caught the moment in a "blury state".
But overall I liked the result and upload it in my post.

Beautiful mosque and nice to see you in the mosque. Photography are excellent♥

Wow you found and historic place so cool to know the history of that place and take a look to the past, it look small but full of interesting things to know.

The great ottoman empire presented such excellent works everywhere he went.
A great share. I congratulate you. For accurate information and high quality sharing ..

Cool..
Amazing clicks my friend

Mosque still stands after so many years ...that is Great ...Thanks to Allah....
And you have made it there it is great otherwise i have seen many ill people always fussing about muslims are terrorists....i am glad you are different from them...thanks mate...

Yes ...this is a problem I'm afraid...
With the past attacks in Europe many people have a fear ...over Muslims.
But this is not the case in my place witch is a very old part of Romania called Dobrogea.
Here people know the difference between a Muslim and a extremist.
In 2 Mai witch is my village we have:

  • muslims (both turkish and ancestors of Gingis Han -Tatari--witch is Mongolo-turco-turanic origin)
  • lipoveni ( Ortodox old rite of slavic origin -me included)
  • romi (gypsy people ), they are of Ortodox religion
  • full romanian 100% of different birth place like moldoveni, olteni,
  • maghiar (romanian with hungarian origin)

Yeah so all that is just in my little village of 2248 people. (last count in 2002)

We live and function as a good oiled machine ...and we have a good understanding of one and the other.
I really hope that the rest of the world...will understand too...

Ottoman, has built such beautiful works everywhere it goes ..
thank you for visiting this holy work and sharing it @cynetyc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54