You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How safe is your money and savings?

Interesting what you say about the mining ratio's. I wonder if that is because it's not cost effective to mine more silver even though it's fairly readily available given the relatively low value compared to gold. Remember I mentioned the 70kg gold nugget was the largest ever? Well the largest silver nugget was 840kg! A ratio of 1:12. I'm not sure what that tells us though. I think it's a good point you're making though and will give it some thought.

Sort:  

the thing to keep in mind between gold and silver, most of the gold ever mined is still in circulation, it just changes hands or transformed into something else. Silver has several non recoverable industrial applications and new technologies require silver( solar panels , electronic gadgets, medicine, synthetic fabrics, the list goes on) We have been using silver at a deficit for most of the last 20 years (except for 3 of them) Silver is cheap right now and still being mined as a byproduct of other metal mining operations but the ore is of less quality than it once was. Don't get me wrong , I am very much a fan of gold as well! I suspect more gain % on silver. And also not cost effective to mine silver on it's own, several silver only mining companies are struggling.

You are a wealth of info... cheers :)

haha thanks, I read too much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.71
ETH 2527.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53