You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first time seeing the Northern Lights was incredible!

in #photography8 years ago

That is awesome! I'm happy you got to see them. I saw them for the first time earlier this year in Iceland. I'll never forget it. I wish I got photos as good as your though! I don't really know much about photography, especially at night time. :-/

Sort:  

Hei @customnature, thanks so much for the comment. A truly unforgettable experience indeed! As I mentioned, I am a complete photography novice as well, but I did some quick research online and experimented while I was out there until I found something that worked as far as exposure time, ISO, etc. I plan to write a post about it actually to help encourage others to get out there and try it, so stay tuned for that. And for my film that I will post on Tuesday, it is going to be EPIC!!

Any tips? I head to Ireland tomorrow and there is a chance we may be able to see some aurora.

What kind of camera do you have? The photo with me in it was taken with a Sony A5000 compact with just the stock lens, so nothing super fancy at all. I just put it in manual mode and played with the settings. What I ended up with there was f/3.5, 2.5 sec exposure, ISO-3200, 16mm focal length. It was also important to manually set the focus to the approximate distance I was standing. To take pictures of just the sky, set the focus to the infinity setting or else they will come out blurry. I used a headlamp to cast a bit of light on me so that I would show up. If I had the light too close, I would come out washed out. You must also stand VERY still while the picture is being taken (in my case 2.5 seconds).

I wish you luck and can't wait to see your posts from Ireland! An incredibly beautiful country!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65