Japanese Castle Series Part 1: Hirado Castle and Kameoka Shrine in Nagasaki, Japan

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

When exploring a new country, one often visits some of the unique local architecture. During my Japan trip, I got to see a number of cool castles, each with its own unique history and cultural significance. In order to fully capture what I saw and share all my pictures, I am constructing a multi-post series. Welcome to Part 1 of that series, consider following if you're eager for more!

I started my exploration of Japanese castles with the Hirado Castle located in Nagasaki, Japan.

Originally built in 1599, this fortress was meant primarily to protect the Hirado harbor which served as a major trading post between Japan and European powers of the time. 

Shots of the Hirado Harbor from the top of the main castle tower:

@SlickWilly and I at the top!

Throughout its history, this castle was destroyed and rebuilt a number of times: 

  • Burnt down in 1618 by its original constructor, warlord Matsura Shigenobu, as a gesture of loyalty towards Shogun Tokugawa leyasu
  • Rebuilt in 1718 to served as the ruling seat of the Matsura clan 
  • Dismantled in 1871 as part of a Japan wide abolishment of the Han system
  • Finally restored in 1962 as a steel structure and designated as a National Important Cultural Property

Within the castle there were a number of old artifacts including two samurai outfits. These masks were meant to scare enemies but I can't help but find the added facial hair a bit humorous.  😊 

Behind the main castle tower are two, slightly smaller, towers.

@SlickWilly on his way to one of the smaller towers:

An additional open air structure on premises:

Shot of the main castle tower from behind:

Cool tree I saw alongside the main tower:

Shot from the Hirado town below where we had lunch.

 Kameoka Shrine

Throughout Japan there are a number of Shino shrines, I plan to do a separate blog post on these alone, however outside of the Hirado Castle was a very pretty one I'd like to share with you.

From the Shrine entrance to its main worship building

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Absolutely stunning, I never thought of Japan and castles together until I saw your photos here. Really beautiful, upvoted and following you. Thanks so much for sharing!

Yes I was surprised too, but there actually is quite a number of them! Thanks for the follow :)

You're so welcome, they are amazing! Hope you had a fabulous time exploring them. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82