The water filled bunker and my mission finding it

in #photography7 years ago

Hey guys, back with another exploration story.

Today I will share a little story about a water filled bunker deep below the ground. The bunker itself isn't very special, it has 4 empty rooms. What makes this place so cool and special is the fact that it's filled with water. I'm about 195 cm and the water reaches just below my knee caps at the deepest point.

What's probably even more interesting, is my mission finding this place. You see, there was a show called "Hemliga Rum" (translates to Secret Rooms) in Sweden. As you can guess by the name, this show was all about showing cool abandoned places around Sweden. The art of finding abandoned places (also known as urbex or urban exploration) has a couple of unwritten rules, but the most important being: Do not publicly share info about the places you've found. The show did a good job of following this rule.

There was however one episode which featured abandoned places in the capital of Sweden, Stockholm. One of the places they showed on this episode was the water filled bunker. They did a pretty poor job of filming/photographing it, but just seeing the host walking through the water and hear him talk about the atmosphere made me really excited. I sent him an email and asked if he could give me any clues but unfortunately he had promised to not share any details about this bunker.

So I went back rewatching the episode, hoping I could get some clues as to where this place was. Funnily enough, they actually filmed when they crawled out of the entrance. This clip was only a couple of seconds long, but that was enough to give some good clues.

My clues were:
-The entrance was pointing to the west (could see the setting sun)
-Dense forest area
-A larger road with a special kind of street light
-Wires between each street light

This was gave me enough information to narrow it down to a couple of large roads here in the city. I took the car and did some exploring, mind you these roads are rather long and at one time I found myself at least 30 minutes from the city center. I thought I had found the entrance several times, but each time was a disappointment. After a week or so of constant failure, I was beginning to give up.

Then one summer night when I was driving to my girlfriends place, I passed a little foresty area just beside the road. I thought that it looked pretty similar to what I saw in that episode, but it couldn't be this road could it? I turned around, parked the car by the road and quickly scouted the area. After less than a minute of searching, I had found what I was looking for, the entrance to the water filled underground bunker! I had literally checked every road in the city EXCEPT this one. Oh well, at least I found it.

The photos
First of all I'm sorry for the watermark but I am working on a book where I will publish most of these pics. :) I'ts a loooong way from being finished but I will let you know when it's done!

1.jpg
The stairs leading down to the actual bunker. As you can see the stairs and the walls are dry so it was odd seeing the whole bunker being flooded.

3.jpg
The view of room one. To the right you can see my friends homemade wader suit. And no, it didn't work :P

2.jpg
The light from our flashlight created some pretty neat reflections from the water.

4.jpg
Entering the largest room of them all, we call it "The hall". You can also see that there used to be plenty of different tools down here, pick axes, normal axes, shovels and so on.

5.jpg
The hall, my favorite picture of them all. Unfortunately we couldn't continue further because our rubber boots were too short. However we were more than happy, we got to experience the bunker in real life and got some cool photos.

6.jpg

We later came back here to explore it further, we thought we might have missed something cool but it turns out there was just two small rooms at the back. The water in this room was also a lot shallower.

While the actual bunker is pretty small and not very exciting, the water and the atmosphere it creates makes this easily one of my favorite urbex spots (and I've visited hundreds places like this!).

Stay tuned for more, I'm thinking of sharing the story of a trip we did to an underground ammo facility with working blast doors, how does that sound?

Sort:  

Awesome pics

It looks pretty creepy tbh, weren't you scared you'd find some unholy thing in there?

Or something in that water would grab you by the foot?

Just realized I'm pretty paranoid

Thanks, glad you like them!

Yeah it's always a little scary going into the unknown, we used to carry a knife with us a couple of years back because we were scared. But we quickly realized it's not necessary, at least not in Sweden. A lot of the people you meet in the underground are either other explorers or homeless people, who often are more than willing to share a few stories.

Also a strong and bright flashlight will always bring some comfort.

Love the story around it, you hunting for clues, narrowing down the roads and in the end finding it. Good job - a great documentation.

Congratulations @cryptr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64951.20
ETH 3557.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35