You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit PhotoChallenge Besties: What I learned and All My Best Photos From My 3 Day Adventure On The Hunt For The Majestic Yellow Swallowtail Butterfly!

in #photography8 years ago

Beautiful pictures! I'm quite impressed they came out so clear. I remember taking my daughter to the zoo not long ago, and her favorite part was the butterfly house. It was a meandering plant & shrub lined path through a glass enclosure kind of like a greenhouse, filled with hundreds of butterflies. My daughter kept trying to take pictures of the butterflies with my iPhone, but was frustrated when they came out blurry. I bet she would love to learn your technique!

Sort:  

Yes well it was not easy at all and with an iPhone it would be almost impossible to get one moving in any clarity to see. Maybe if you could tach one on a flower and quickly snap a shot.
Its interesting because my iPhone takes 10 photos a second and my DSLR only takes like 2 photos a second but I can put a big zoom lens on it as with the iPhone I would have to be very close to get a good shot.
I take a lot go great shots with iPhones but small things or at distance things are not the best for it.

Zoom has always been the big problem with the iPhone camera. I've seen lenses you can clip on the phone to improve the quality but they're awkward & difficult to use. I think the new iPhone 7 is supposed to have improved zoom but I haven't had a chance to get my hands on one yet.

Yes the iPhones are AWESOME as far as cameras go in phones...But in low light or small things they just don't do so well.
Its crazy because my iPhone can take 10 photos a second but my DSLR can only take like 2 photos a second. Yet the DSLR can change out any type of lens from hundreds to thousands of dollars in quality. Also the low lighting abilities on high quality lenses if far superior. Then of course you get much higher mega pixel and photo size for editing.
All in all I am very impressed with the iPhones and that is what I use 98% of the time for photos. Yet for a shoot like this I had to have the lens I did or I wouldn't have gotten anything good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67950.48
ETH 2621.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72