When I Was A Photographer - When Cryptogee Met Chris

in #photography6 years ago

Chris_Eubank_1000.png

I met ex-middleweight champion boxer Chris Eubank one night after a show during fashion week. Unfortunately the only picture of him to survive that night is this one, which is probably one of the worst ones I took.

The reason being is that three of the four rolls of film I shot that night were stolen from me! I couldn't believe it, we were at the fairly posh St. Martin's Lane hotel in Covent Garden London. The night was an after party, I think it was Alexander McQueen's show but my memory is a bit hazy of that night.

Anyway after each roll of film I shot, I returned to my jacket that was hanging up in the cloakroom and zipped up the shot roll in an inner pocket, whilst getting a fresh one from an outer pocket on the other side. Making doubly sure that I kept my exposed and new film completely separate.

I also had experience at taking pictures at parties I was also involved in, so I understood the importance of being really together when it came to protecting my film.

I was devastated to find that somebody had swiped my film. It really was the only explanation, I had made sure that the film was inside my pocket and the pocket itself was zipped shut. The only reason I have this shot left, is because for some reason I didn't unload the last roll of film, instead I just left it in the camera, which stayed with me all night.

The Meeting

My friend Dan who you see on the extreme right opposite Chris, introduced me to the boxer. Eubank was standing there with a leather Versace jacket hanging from one shoulder.

I would say 'hanging casually', however he looked as if he had spent a long time getting the edge of the jacket to perfectly fall down the centre line of his body.

I stuck out my hand to shake his, before taking my hand he stepped back in a semi defensive pose so that he was more side on to me. Only then did he put out his hand to shake mine; while saying in his soft lispy voice 'pleased to meet you.'

That's when it dawned on me that as a boxer a lot of men trying to prove themselves had probably tried to fight him or sucker punch him whilst shaking his hand.

I smiled at him and tried to convey the fact that not only am I not that type of guy, but he was broad as hell and I wouldn't be so stupid as to try and test somebody who knocked people out for a living.

He turned out to be a really nice guy and posed for loads of pictures and we chatted away for about half an hour about his boxing career and loads of random stuff.

Like I say, those pictures are gone forever, and my only hope is the thief developed them and at least enjoyed looking at them.

Cryptogee

Sort:  

A roll of film container- at a party?- I'm sure it was stolen- by someone thinking it was a narcotic stash! lol

That's when it dawned on me that as a boxer a lot of men trying to prove themselves had probably tried to fight.....

My claim to fame!(well, one of them) - I hit Herbie Hide's in the stomach as hard as I could a week after he won the the heavyweight world championship (mid 90's ish). ...He laughed...

A roll of film container- at a party?- I'm sure it was stolen- by someone thinking it was a narcotic stash! lol

You know what? That had never crossed my mind and it's probably true! I was just so annoyed because I reckoned that I'd have at least one good shot to sell to the press, even though I wasn't a press photographer...

My claim to fame!(well, one of them) - I hit Herbie Hide's in the stomach as hard as I could a week after he won the the heavyweight world championship (mid 90's ish). ...He laughed...

Big lolz :-)

Cg

That had never crossed my mind and it's probably true

Oh, I'm sure mate...I raved around the world for 15 years..I know what I'm on about... lol

How wonderful that one picture survived, though.

You can see in Eubank's pursed lips the insecurity of a man constantly holding his words inside, because he doesn't trust them. Like you say, it's his body he trusts, his defensive stance, his fists. A picture is worth a thousand words.

It's nice that you won his trust and engaged in a conversation.

We once stayed at the St Martin's Hotel, as it's in the heart of the West End, and we loved the fact that it's a little mysterious, in that the name isn't even written above the door, but good grief, once we saw the final bill, never again lol!

but good grief, once we saw the final bill, never again lol!

Haha, yeah it was them and the Sanderson which were known as the cool, hip, expensive hotels :-)

You can see in Eubank's pursed lips the insecurity of a man constantly holding his words inside, because he doesn't trust them.

Yeah it's a real shame that the full length didn't survive; he looked so uncomfortable and out of place, and he seemed genuinely pleased that people wanted to talk to him. Like I say, really nice guy, if not a little odd :-)

Cg

Nice observation about the defensive pose...
As far as the theif is concerned, may be he can read you now and he can send the copies of all those photos... Wouldn't that be nice of him:)

As far as the theif is concerned, may be he can read you now and he can send the copies of all those photos... Wouldn't that be nice of him:)

That would be great! Extremely doubtful though... still, here's hoping! :-)

Cg

Ouch, sorry about that...

My concern is why do you ever stop been a photographer if you are doing it at this very high level.

You've shared some of the great people you've met as a result of you been a photographer and the story behind it, it's a sign that you enjoyed been a photographer, but I've never seen you sharing the story of what made you to quit photographic.

I've never seen you sharing the story of what made you to quit photographic.

Thanks for your kind words, however it can be summed up very simply; money...

I wasn't successful enough, I needed to sell more pictures and it is a very cliquey industry, plus even though I took some nice stuff, I wasn't good enough (or determined enough) to break into that world.

Back then it was all on film and therefore the amount of money I spent, versus the amount I made was a negative sum game, so I stopped.

It's nice now that I can make a bit of money back from some of my photography, but in reality it cost me thousands upon thousands and I'm not rich so I couldn't just keep pouring in money and never making any.

Cg

Oh, that's a great determinant, money is one of the reasons why many forfeit their dreams, I posted about a friend who was very good at singing but ended up as an instrumentalist for other singers because he had no money to promote himself.

Well, thank God you are making sense out of of it now than when those pictures were taken through the help of steemit.

For the sake of your steemit fan, lay hold on the modern camera and still give us your best, you will spend less by earning more now.... Smile

I have been following you form some days and i wonder why a wonderful photographer is saying that he is not a good photographer, I know no one is perfect but still you should be proud of what you are doing, you are really an amazing photographer sir.

Thanks; I was just upset because I knew I had done better than this on the rolls that were stolen :-)

Cg

I think the picture is perfect mate, I just read a little bit information about Chris Eubank, He fought 52 matches and won 45 out of it, what a great record. Interesting to know he knocks out 23 of his opponents. half of his all victory, and it's not easy to knock out your opponent. His record is fantastic! Thanks for letting me know about this great fighter.

Thanks; yeah he was pretty awesome, he never fought for the IBF but still he was great and he had some epic bouts with Nigel Ben, Mclleland and Steve Collins.

Cg

Oh thanks for the info brother!

This unfortunate event could not have happened these days because your photos would have been instantly uploaded to insert one of the megacorps's server where they would have been kept indefinitely with or without your consent. Ahh yes, the power of technology! /s

Indeed, and there was something magical, and nerve wracking, waiting for the shots to be developed ...

Cg

So he arranged the jacket deliberately for show? Nice.

I hope no one tries to throw a poem at me because I don't like getting sucker punched poetically.

Photography is an awesome art. I just know how to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97