When I Was A Photographer - For The Love Of A Fence

in #photography6 years ago

Back in the '90s when I was a photographer, I loved fences. However even back then their use in photography was considered cheesy.

I didn't care though, and I still don't, even though I was trying to be a cool non-cheesy type of photographer, I still loved my fences.

So in a homage to the fromage, I decided to dig up this old one of my favourite model Muji behind a fence looking pensive and broody.

Muji_fence.png

WHAT IS IT ABOUT FENCES? ANY POP PSYCHOLOGISTS OUT THERE CARE TO HAVE A GO AT ANALYSING MY LOVE FOR THEM?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Quite simply, You like to see things through a tinted view.
It differs from the normal direct view in the sense that it could be more beautiful, but also in some cases less.
However its a risk worth taking to you.

I too am a victim of this

You like to see things through a tinted view.
It differs from the normal direct view in the sense that it could be more beautiful

I like this, as I often think I'm trying to see the world in the best possible light, which sometimes leads to a distorted and biased view...

Cg

@cryptogee,

It's all about perspective, isn't it?

Hypothetically, imagine you're now Doin' Time because a judge begged to differ about whether you were indeed required to disclaim that, "You weren't giving financial advice," about cryptocurrencies and whether the SEC did, in fact, have a nexus of jurisdiction.

As you're strolling the prison-grounds, you begin to contemplate boundaries, metaphorically represented by fences. Boundaries and respect for authority ... they have never been your strong suits. You are, after all, a rebel at heart.

Ironically, you now realize, that just as there's a quality of peace that can only be found on the other side of war, there's also a quality of freedom that can only be found on the other side of restraint. Like poetic verse, structure magnifies the effect ... and lack of it, ruins it. Your life-long fence-obsession was, in fact, a part of you crying out, "Cryptogee ... don't be an anarchist."

To add poignence to your newfound insight, a beautiful woman appears on the other side of the prison fence. You approach. She looks you in the eye and whispers, "Cryptogee, darling, I was starting to smoke and I realized I needed an oil change ... I've started dating a mechanic."

Boundaries and respect for authority ... they have never been your strong suits. You are, after all, a rebel at heart.

Hmm, methinks you may be on to something here!

Hypothetically, imagine you're now Doin' Time because a judge begged to differ about whether you were indeed required to disclaim that, "You weren't giving financial advice," about cryptocurrencies and whether the SEC did, in fact, have a nexus of jurisdiction.

Bloody hell, I hope not! :-D

To add poignence to your newfound insight, a beautiful woman appears on the other side of the prison fence. You approach. She looks you in the eye and whispers, "Cryptogee, darling, I was starting to smoke and I realized I needed an oil change ... I've started dating a mechanic."

Now there's a haiku-type utterance that I need to meditate on for a while :-)

Cg

@cryptogee,

Cryptogee, if we ever have the opportunity to meet up in real life, the first round's on me: A pint of Guinness for you and I ... and a pint of motor oil for your gal-pal. :)

Comments section of:

https://steemit.com/ai/@quillfire/killing-off-cryptogee-s-fantasy-girlfriend-is-ai-even-possible-in-non-biological-entities

Ah yes, how can I forget my biomechanical love? :-D

Cg

@cryptogee,

Forgotten already? Cryptogee ... maybe you've got commitment issues as well. :-)

You know, given the propensity of everyone to psychoanalyze a fence-obsession, perhaps you ought to consider running with this theme. You're a complicated guy ... I'm sure there's lots more where that came from.

Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, Google the profile of some serial-killer who ate his neighbors and dribble it over a number of posts. Psychoanalyze this. Psychoanalyze that.

"Why do I always think of barb-a-que sauce when I see my boss?"

Quill.

Cryptogee is away for the weekend... I will get back to your replies on Monday. Thanks for commenting and keep 'em coming!!

Cg

Cg... That's why u were compensating by writing so many post today.. Njoy

I do like to "frame" a shot, and fences are just many lil frames. What that means is we are actually pretty cool photographers (for our advanced age and all lol)

Say did you get your Byteball tokens from the airdrop today?

What that means is we are actually pretty cool photographers (for our advanced age and all lol)

I'm going to go with that, and add that the older we get, the damn cooler we become! :-)

Say did you get your Byteball tokens from the airdrop today?

Not sure, from which ones did they come from; and where would they be?

Cg

As my Architecture prof would have said "Fences are near transparent barriers which allow observers to see what is on the other side but prevent them from physically reaching it".

My English literature prof would say "It is a symbolic representation of unrequited love and repressed sexuality as society restraint weighs upon individualism".

You could be really into building walls or you really like to go pride parades.

But I'm more curious about Muji, are you guys still keeping in touch? How is she doing now? Whenever I look at old photos of beautiful women, it's just a bit sad to imagine how they would never be as radiant as the moment those photos are taken.

You could be really into building walls or you really like to go pride parades.

Interesting take, I'll have to meditate on that answer...

But I'm more curious about Muji, are you guys still keeping in touch? How is she doing now?

No, we knew each other very briefly. She was a girlfriend of a very good friend of mine, he lives in Barcelona now so next time I see him I'll ask, as I too would like to know how she is these days.

Whenever I look at old photos of beautiful women, it's just a bit sad to imagine how they would never be as radiant as the moment those photos are taken.

I think I know what you mean; however there is a certain light that certain women (and men) refuse to let go out, you see it in their eyes...

An example that springs to mind is Helen Mirren, or even Vivienne Westwood. Those two ladies are in their 70s however if you look at pics of them now and when they were younger the fire in their eyes is just the same and that for me is true beauty :-)

Cg

By asking why YOU love fences, rather than why photographers in general love fences, you give away the answer.

By putting yourself in the story, you have created a narrative.

Since your instinct is for storytelling, as much as for pure composition, the power of fences to divide things is always going to be a magnet.

Every story is a fence-like division, of a protagonist, from their goal.

In the picture, the photographer takes the place of the likely protagonist, with Muji a classic princess in distress, imprisoned behind the fence, waiting to be rescued.

Alternately, Muji is the protagonist, with the fence standing between her and her goals, either literally, in the form of a destination, or metaphorically, as a physical manifestation of the barrier between herself and whatever is on her mind, depicted as a sideways glance (another narrative trope of yours).

Further, Muji is leaning against this fence. This makes the fence a prop upon which she rests, a momentary respite, whereby she can reorganise her thoughts, and recharge her narrative momentum, as she prepares to fight on against the barriers in her life that stand between her and the mysterious object of her desires.

Every prison movie features a fence, being cut or not being cut, with escape ever beckoning. And in a deeper sense, every life IS a prison movie, the psychological barriers we can cut, and those we cannot.

Think of Steve McQueen crashing his motorbike into a fence in "The Great Escape." The fence seems insurmountable, but his spirit is not defeated. Placed again in the fence-like confines of his cell, he throws his baseball repeatedly against a wall, an endless plip-plopping heartbeat of undefeated defiance.

Fences are where the stories are, where the human spirit makes it's stand.

Storytelling is why YOU love fences. :)

Loading...

Wow what a description... Mindblowing.. Sir you rock with ur reply.. What an imagination and comparison:)

@rodneysreviews,

Great analysis ... and @cryptogee needs all the analysis he can get. :-)

BTW: An insight, articulated simply ... is the very essence of powerful writing.

Very well done.

Quill.

Fantastic photography. you are a photographer. i like your work.

Fencing... If i wanna analyse your psychology it seems you are in mental cage and ur thoughts and emotions needs wings to go out and meet some one:)

Fences are still very much common in Nigeria, whether I like it or not depend largely on my feeling about where the fence is constructed..... Smile

You can have your fence, but don't block my shortcuts. Hahahha

Generally, fence are good for demarcation and prevention of intruder...

The passion of photography isn't something that just ends.
Once you start photographing it won't end and it will be always stored in your mind and heart.
Although i'm not a psychologist.
The picture is very beautiful anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86