The Qiantang River aka Silver Dragon, world's largest tidal bore, and petrified wood

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

WechatIMG13.jpeg
I think my wife called me a tidal bore once...

I'm in Shanghai visiting a factory, and got lucky to be put up in a hotel facing one of China's famous rivers. The last branch of the China's Grand Canal that was built in the Sui Dynasty 1500 years ago(waterway linking beijing to shanghai).

I'm near where it grows in size and empties into the bay near Shanghai, between Shanghai and Hangzhou. The tide can rush up to 25mph and 30 feet high; historically called the Silver Dragon. Interestingly, there were a few displays of petrified wood in the park by the river. Petrified wood has always fascinated me because it gives such a clear view of something that was alive and growing in this case 1.5 million years ago. That's like, way before bitcoin.

I walked out this morning and took some pictures.

WechatIMG2.jpeg

WechatIMG3.jpeg

WechatIMG4.jpeg!
WechatIMG6.jpeg

WechatIMG5.jpeg

WechatIMG7.jpeg
WechatIMG11.jpeg

WechatIMG9.jpeg

WechatIMG10.jpeg

WechatIMG15.jpeg

Hope you enjoyed.WechatIMG16.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54