Any timelapse enthusiasts out there?

in #photography7 years ago

I'll preface this by saying I'm a huge hiker, "outdoories" person and feel like photography goes hand in hand there. About this time last year I got into take timelapses, but the equipment either sucked, or was too bulky to bring out out hikes (would take up half of my pack).

Co-worker of mine came into work the other day saying he just got a test kit from a view friends of his that have been creating a "modular slider." The thing fit in my backpack. Didn't even know that was possible without having a negative impact on the quality of the video. Needless to say, this thing was incredible. Waiting on my buddy to send me the footage from today, but cannot wait.

Has anyone heard of a modular camera slider? Any advice here?

I'll try and upload the footage when I get it, but here is what it looks like.

Screenshot 2017-06-30 20.24.48.png
Screenshot 2017-06-30 20.24.32.png

Sort:  

Oooo, looks fun! I wonder if they make one for a DSLR...the gopro version would probably be lighter and easier to pack. Don't mind me, I'm just arguing with myself lol

haha nah I'm right there with ya. I'm sure the gopro and iphone was an easier problem to solve. I think most DSLR sliders have the motors on the ends of the slider. I'm no engineer though.

Ya, I'm sure you're right. Heck, I would still play with the gopro one :)

It's too simple not too. Just waiting for them to actually sell it.

Exactly. Just strap it to our backpacks and go.

I used to love making time-lapse and stop-motion videos, but I no longer have a decent way to compile the images into video format :P. That slider looks fun. Would it support a pro DSLR?

Have you tried Quicktime pro? Used that before and it did a decent job and wasn't too tricky.

Not sure if it supports DSLR. I'm sure it could if it was laid flat, but don't think the motor is strong enough to handle dslr going vertical. We just used an iphone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26