Alaska, The State where I was born

in #photography7 years ago

So, I happen to have been born in Alaska. I lived in both Anchorage and Juneau. I only lived in Alaska the first 6 1/2 years of my life but remember wonderful things about the life there. I remember as a child the sea coast of Juneau. Beautiful sea shells, chorals, and sea creatures would was ashore. I remember my parents always having us fly to neighboring cities because you can only get somewhere from ferry or by plane. A car just can't pass the mountains surrounding Juneau.

Anchorage was something else. I remember festivals with eskimo's. They would put one person on a huge skin tarp and toss him in the air about 20 feet up sometimes. I remember dog sleigh races, along with frozen tennis courts during winter time. Tennis courts were always frozen over so people could go ice skating any time.

I remember on April fools day one year when I was 5. A large moose walked into our yard (we lived by a mountain on about 5 acres). I ran inside to tell my mother that a moose was in the yard. My mom said "you are April fooling me". Then she looked and saw the moose.

I have wonderful memories of picking wild blue berries on a hillside with my mom, and going to a farm to see some really amazing huge carrots. I'll never forget the story my Grand Dad told me. He said he bartered for a King Crab in Wittear(sp) The crabs legs hung over both sides of his pick up truck. He paid a kid $5 for the crab.
Earthquakes. I vividly remember falling to the ground during earth quakes. I seriously couldn't stand up so I would just sit on the ground. I remember my best friend David's basement. His parent built a huge sand box in their basement for him to play in because the winters were so long.

White Nights. They really do exist. My Mom had to put tin foil over our windows so we could sleep. Otherwise it would be almost day light in our bedroom.

Our neighbor's snow mobile. I remember our neighbor having a snow mobile. One day we tied our sled to the back of it and I sat on the very back of the sled. He took off and I did a back flip off the sled.

We always cut down our own Christmas Trees. My father, brothers and myself would go with the big sled to the neighboring mountain and we would choose a tree to cut down. What a joyous time.

Another wonderful memory was watching my brothers fire off their rockets from car batteries at their school. A wonderful memory.

The best memories I had from Alaska was always when I was with my family at home, talking, playing games, dancing, sitting around the wood burning stove, and having fun.

The funny memory I remember was when I was with my mom at the grocery store. It was popular for women to wear wigs outside to keep their heads warm in the 70's. I was in the car and watched my mother slip on the ice. She fell on her bottom and her wig came off. I cried and cried because I thought her hair fell off.

Thanks for reading. Please share your memories of early child hood. They will be nice for your kids to read one day. God bless and please do subscribe. The 3 pictures above are taken from google pics. The bottom photo is of me at 6
qq6.jpg

Sort:  

I've always wanted to visit Alaska, such stunning scenery.

Thanks for the reply. I am now following your blog. I hope you make it to Alaska one day.

I had a friend that took one of those Alaskan cruises. The photos from their trip were like these, just beautiful.

how did you end up in israel!

Work. My family and I are here on long term tourist visa's. We are just enjoying the Country while we are here. Thanks for the post.

What a gorgeous state! I've always wanted to live there but there are so few reptiles and amphibians lol. I definitely want to visit though! Great post!

Thanks. You must be an animal person/ Very Cool. I am now following your blog.

Nice pictures, following you now :)

Thank you. I also am following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99