Respite from Smoke and Ash — Thoughts and Photos of Healing Rain from an Electrical Tower on a Mountain

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-rd2.jpg

This summer has felt like an extended, inescapable inferno.

You may have caught my post from a few months ago, where I shared with you the raging fires that were sweeping British Columbia at the time. The sheer size of the devastation and the impact on the ecosystem, wildlife, and communities was difficult to truly wrap my head around; the country looked on first in horror, and then a numbed resignation as fires were battled down, but not put out. Much like I always do when I can't calm my head or my heart, I ended up wandering into the forest looking for solace, and spent time taking pictures of areas where fires had burned in the past. The lithe green shoots of returning flora and desiccated patches of char in proximity somehow came across as strangely beautiful, and hopeful. Things will live and grow again.

As you can tell by my lack of posting, lots has been happening. And as it all threatened to close in on me in a stifling wave, as the heat and the spreading of greedy flames snaked through parched hills... it began to rain here. Soothing sounds, tremulous weaving trails of dampness cooling fevered brow and smoldering landscape alike.

It was so desperately needed and so lovingly accepted.

I put everything down, grabbed my camera and my stalwart hiking partner, and went to be (mostly) alone on a mountain while the sky split and crashed down around me. The catharsis of climbing the chilled metal supports of my electrical tower in sharp wind and watching the clouds roll through the valley in place of smoke... I don't know that it's possible to explain the same tumbling feeling that surged through me as a tentative peace pushed out all of the negativity I hardly registered that I'd been carrying.

crimsonclad-rd1.jpg

This is Murphy. He usually snuffles around the base of the tower while I sit and think.

crimsonclad-rd3.jpg

crimsonclad-rd11.jpg

crimsonclad-rd8.jpg

I sat above the clouds and below the crackling wires humming unpredictably overhead for a very long time.

Sheets formed of streaked lines blurred from the distance or the drizzle or
the seemingly unstoppable blaze both real and imagined
or maybe the haze was in my eyes already and just became apparent when I stopped moving and stopped wiping them clear

but tipping up my chin and my hopes and a cupped hand



clarity of air, water, thoughts
and a descent too fast and too careless, warmed and sped by the bite of cold steel and
a slight fear of the rocks below unsure on the way up and alive on the way down
to slink into the woods and play at stalking and slithering.
A connection — reconnection — through each drop to all things and places, and to wild and joyful abandon.

crimsonclad-rd4.jpg

Once I spent enough time sitting hidden above the cloudline, we took to the deep woods and got lost in the ferns

crimsonclad-rd6.jpg

Found places the sunlight couldn't touch

crimsonclad-rd5.jpg

crimsonclad-rd10.jpg

Smiled at the great fortune we are blessed with

crimsonclad-rf1.jpg

to trail the very apex of each outstretched finger through a scattering of diamond worlds I simply cannot fit into
a momentary joining and reforming in sensation; to pull away and watch each crystalline remnant burst in a glimmer of movement, collecting
both smooth and unblemished, softening and highlighting a view of crazed faults underneath.
A chaotic sheen of renewal and nourishment that lingers only shortly to be absorbed and fed off of
in bursts
and droplets
and the faintest, fading gentle patter when the world has had enough.

crimsonclad-rd7.jpg

crimsonclad-rd9.jpg

and of course, gratuitous dog photo, because this guy doesn't care about rain or climbing or deep thoughts or sadness or even relief. He just wants to run freely with me and share goofy, secret doggy grins as we get lost out in the woods. He's basically the best.

All of these photos, stories, and words are my own original work, inspired by my travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️
crimsonclad.png

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee has patrolled by your post and approves of its content. @shadow3scalpel will be supporting new veterans, retirees, and military members on Steemit. If you would like to support this project simply give this comment an upvote and see @chairborne's page for a list of members and other ways to support the veteran's community.
little vet tag.png

Hmm, nature and its uniqueness. Here in Lagos Nigeria is hot sun everywhere, but it's good. Lightening is like hammer that hit the rock to bring out water and you know water is for refreshing....

Nice post I love all the images well captured.

I would love to get there and experience that some day! Your climate and vegetation is suited for the heat.. ours....not so much :(

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Lightening can destroy, but with it comes a rain that renews. Where it goes from there depends on if the seeds can survive, and if the ground was even fertile to begin with. I remain optimistic that the strongest of the trees in the mountains can overcome a few rocks to sprout into beautiful new beginnings.

I will always believe that never can be overcome.

I love you.

heh spite vote. nice.

acknowledgement, but cool.

"you've been heard"

Thanks for the acknowledgement?

the '?' indicates not; now I know.

I've been trying to get your acknowledgement for a month. so forgive the confusion for this, now, in it's infinite inexplicability. My door never got locked, your's did. So uh, acknowledge away? I don't know what you think you know... but here's some acknowledgement, cool.

The doors open kid, acknowledgement was all I ever sought, and all I ever got was always, never.

So I don't know what this exchange was about, but question marks are open ended punctuation, and periods are final and exclamation points are used as "not" in scripting. So your call, as it has always been. I've sat here dying, to communicate or die trying. Your radio silence is the one that has to be broken, and a confusing vote is not much of an acknowledgement of that. Words from you could be rain on the sprouts to renew the growth, but the absence of them has been a drought that kills.

So just a drive by heartbreak. Cool. Too bad this has to take place in public.

GD, why would you even do that to me here? Thanks for yet another silent night of tears. I actually thought you might want to talk and try to end your deadly silence. I actually waited all night for the next word. Like every day and every night. Like I will forever, always.

Fantastic photos as ever Crimmy.
You have a great eye, I can't wait to see your pics from Iceland.
Great dog too!

thank you! make sure you keep up some plane reading material for me~

Great shots and writing. Be careful around the wires yo! Dont want ya getting hurt . Your dog has the bluest eyes ever, he's like Frank Sinatra in dog form :) Beautiful stuff

he's a husky mix; all of the shit disturber, little of the classic looks.
shakes head
he's been stealing the show since my intro post.

Very nice! Murphy has some cool eyes! See you in the general. Have a great day.

thank you! I'll hang out in the wires, if you promise not to~

nice post..and the dog was cool

I'm so glad you guys are finally getting some rain :) It's been so long since I've been up a mountain but there's something special about being above the clouds!

I ran up Mont Royal when there... that's like.. a baby mountain..maybe? (I'm reaching.) There is some beautiful nature further out from you, though~

Yeah I suppose Mont royal is a tiny baby mountain, probably better described as a hill :D I wish I had a car because just outside of the city in every direction are some great spots for camping. I need more nature in my life sigh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47