Monday Morning Mama Fox — Today and Traveling for Wildlife Photos Got Me Like...

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-mf6.jpg

You may remember I waited an entire year, then drove for hours, took two ferries, and was laying in wait in a field at five in the morning for a chance to see some new born foxes.

The result was this awesome post, full of delightful, fuzzbutt baby yawns, stretches and tumbles. Since it's Monday today, and I'm having a hard time getting moving, I thought I'd share some photos of the mama with you... Pretty much every time I saw her, she had a look of pure "CURSE YOU MONDAY MORNING" on her face, so it seems apropos.

crimsonclad-mf2.jpg

She was so over it. Just like I'm over today already.

 
crimsonclad-mf4.jpg

Already this morning I've dropped my slurpee, I've smacked my head on the underside of my desk, and I've forgotten to save some important work. I'm letting this sly lady fox speak for me on this kind of miserable Monday. I mean, I don't really want to open my eyes while walking either.

crimsonclad-mf1.jpg

crimsonclad-mf3.jpg

So what's Monday like for you, on a level from one to don't-give-a-fox?

Hopefully better than mine — but then I remember, I waited until the entire universe was in alignment to get these fantastic photographs. Persistence is rewarded; keep on keeping on.

crimsonclad-mf5.jpg

Have a beer, and we'll catch up later.

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I run a top 20 STEEM witness with @followbtcnews. Please reach out on Steem.Chat or Discord any time! If we haven't earned your vote, please consider SteemTipper, our community work, and STEEM.Chatvote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.

Sort:  

Killer shots! Where did you take these?!

Thanks so much!! I live on the west coast. Went down into Washington state to take them :)

Niceee, I uncle just moved back to Kentucky from Washington. The photos are ridiculously crisp, can you post the EXIF data from them? Or post your setup you used for them? I'm a photo/video nerd haha.

Personally, I currently am using a Canon 5D Mark III, really eyeballing the Mark IV or the next iteration of it.

But yeah, again, nice shots, dude! Keep churning out nice original content!

Also, woah, thanks @roadscape! You rule! I love you.

I always get embarrassed when it comes to the gear game...! I'm using a mid-level rig and a few pieces of beautiful glass, but in this case, it was a clunky old Sigma antique. It's a bit heavy, hunts and backfocuses all the time, but it's followed me all over the world and I just can't quit it. I'm a Nikon fangirl otherwise, but it always seems like the best photographers on here are using Canons :)

I did hit the focal points in each image with a gentle soft light edge highlight, though.

Don't be embarrassed! Well, aside from the Nikon! Hahaha, sorry, I had to, Canon fanboyism shining through. Nikons are killer, I'm just partial to Canon due to the firmware hacking scene being very active. You seem to have a nice setup! You're definitely showing the fact that you have skill and know what you're doing though, because those shots are, well, they're fucking legit. Killer job!

Also, IMO, Sigma makes really nice glass! Have you checked out any of those Rokinon cine lenses?

If you're interested in the firmware hacking stuff, check out https://magiclantern.fm/ It's a really cool project.

I'll take a look! I have my eye on a new body so I'm open to the idea - lord knows I flash my phone enough.

I'm definitely picking at least one new piece of glass before I head to Iceland in a few months. Toss-up between a Nikkor, a Sigma, and one of the Rokinon.. but I'm leaning towards a wide-angle Sigma art, as landscape and event is my bread and butter. Thoughts?

ICELAND. Ugh, jealous. That's in the sights very soon, too.

I've got an old Nikkor 105mm lens from the 70s that I adapted to my Mark III body haha, a real mutant, but it takes some nice shots.

I dunno about modern day Nikkor glass or much about Sigma these days, but I can vouch for the wide Rokinon lenses being a killer price-point for quality lens. I've considered buying the entire set before. I constantly hear good stuff.

I've been wanting to do Iceland for years. The way I travel is I have two lists, the REALLY IMPORTANT and the GET HERE SOMEDAY. I keep an eye out for last minute flight deals. If it's on the first list, I book, and that's the majour vacation for that year. If it's on the second list, I'll plan two or three.

I kind of never know where I'm going until I get there :D

I use a Sigma 24mm Art and it's one of the very best lenses I've ever purchased. On your D7200 it'll give you an effective focal length of 36mm, but this will be fine in practice.

Your other alternative in the Sigma line up is the 20mm Art. This lens is similar in price, though it's heavier and it has a permanently attached lens hood. I personally wouldn't recommend this lens as it lacks a filter thread, unlike it's 24mm counterpart.

While I'm on the subject of filters, I'd strongly suggest you get a polarising filter to use with your landscape photography. This is the polarising filter I use with my Sigma 24mm, and it's especially useful in bright/hazy conditions.

Your Nikon D7200 is an excellent camera, I've come across several pros who favoured it over their D4s for it's crop factor and lightweight build. I wouldn't look to replace it just yet, unless there's something in particular you don't like about it.

I hope you found this info useful, let me know if you want me to elaborate on anything further. Cheers for now.

the 24mm is exactly the one I've been considering, along with polarizing and neutral density filters, so I'm glad to hear you love it - I've seen nothing but praise. I'm trying to cut down my gear bag as much as possible. I climb/hike with a Cotton Carrier front harness system and a three lens changer at my belt so I can carry whatever I need for living on my back; the reasons you touch on are why I've stayed with the 7200 so long.

However, I was shooting an art gala event last night, and I found on continuous high, given the complex lighting and movement in the space, it was bogging down worse than normal, even if I was only taking three or four photos in quick succession. I think if I continue with special event/concert photography, I may need something that can think a bit faster on the fly.

Great photos, nicely captured. :) keep up the great work.

That's some amazing shots @crimsonclad , I really enjoyed them as I have never seen one in real! We don't have foxes here!
Lovely!
Steem On!
@progressivechef

thank you, thank you! we have them in BC, but I've never seen one before this. I saw news from a park services account that the kits would be born soon, so I basically had to wait for about a one week window to travel down to the US and get them at that size all together as a family.

Hi @crimsonclad - I love animals. We have a beautiful fox that visits our yard often. I feel like it is a boy, but I don't know. We just have to keep our small dogs away from it and the hawks! Thanks for great photos. I am going to look at the baby fox photos next!

I'm actually very jealous of you! I had to go a lonnnng way to see these guys, with almost a year of planning. We have them where I live, I think, but I've never seen one or know anyone who has... I would love to have them just bumbling about in my yard 😍

It is nice to chat with you about animals. I LOVE them!

I am always happy to talk about animals!!

THANK YOU for all the beautiful pictures @crimsonclad

thank YOU for stopping to comment! It means a lot.

truly appreciated, thank you!

Awesome pics. Foxes are totes adorbs!!!

thanks so much! they're basically the best and derpiest animals I've had the luck to see so far this year. Last year, it was puffins.

Again fantastic pictures babe.
The Cubs are adorable, must have took such patience.
Steem on CC.

it took patience waiting the year until they were born, and until they were this age... but once I got there, they basically acted as though I were another fox... I didn't need to do much but frame up the shots!

Ironic that, you are a 'fox'! 😀

@roadscape, I hope you check your mentions sometimes... I want you to know that I really appreciate you. You have supported me since my actual day one with my original photography, and I want you know that it has made me much more confident in my work.

I have drives and drives of pictures from all over this beautiful planet that I sell prints of here and there, but I've never felt good enough to share them with a widescale audience. I'm starting to feel like the stories and photos of the world that I have to offer are meaningful, and I want to thank you in part for that, truly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37