The ancient walled city of Mdina through the Broke Traveller's lens - Ep 11

in #photography7 years ago


The fortified medieval town of Mdina, Malta's so called "silent city", has a history that dates back around 4000 years. It is a real pleasure to walk around the small streets of this beautiful place and admire the old palaces belonging to Maltese noble families and many other "gems" that this place has to offer.

I took this series of photographs with my old Nikon D40 and the kit 18-55 mm lens.






A knight's armor outside the Ministry for Resources and Rural Affairs.



I took a shot of this interesting speckled cat but I cannot remember outside which building it was.





View from the city walls towards Mosta dome.



Local tea garden and cafe Fontanella.



Hope you like the post and please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback... :)

Sort:  

Great pictures...I can feel the history. Of course, I especially liked the cat!

Many thanks! I am glad you liked them! :)

@creutzy, I can't imagine how it would look like if you were not broke! 😊 Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Awesome! It always makes my day a lot better when you pick one of my posts to feature (feel free to include the image you select)...Many thanks! I don't think I could stop travelling if I had the funds to do so. I still can't stop myself even broke, I looked at combining hitchhiking with couchsurfing and that would work but I just can't spare the time from work at the moment.

What's with the Danish flag at Fontanella??? The maltese one doesn't look like this - maybe it's the flag of Mdina or something?! wow :)

Not sure, The Maltese one is red and white too...I guess it might be a variation of it.

The Maltese one is white with the red Maltese cross on it, not like the Danish one, so I guess a variation sounds about right ;)

Beautiful images. That looks like a fascinating place to explore! The second and last images are particularly interesting.

Thanks for the visit and the kind words! It is well worth seeing and exploring indeed. Especially if you go during the festival event they have once a year...

Good to know you like it and thank you for the visit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59