Smoking Mount Athos & Other Greek Delights + Dangers - Through the Broke Traveller's lens - Ep 26

in #photography7 years ago


This was probably the end of my Summer, really. I thoroughly enjoyed my time the other week near Livari beach in Vourvourou, Greece. Since returning to Denmark, I figured that I might as well give up on Summer as that's long gone. This year it seems it was particularly bad, so much so that despite living less than 10 min by bike away from a beach, here in Copenhagen, I only really went in the water more than twice this year. And once it was with a neoprene wetsuit.

Greece was another thing altogether, literally twice the temperature, at around 30 degrees, and the sea water was great also. You can stay in for a really long time without feeling cold. Did swim around quite a bit and manged not to get sunburned despite going there basically as white as cottage cheese...

Only thing not that wasn't that great was the fact that there were some weeverfish around, and my dad managed to step on one. The venomous spines are extremely painful, but he pulled through alright and it was just before the last day of his holiday so he didn't miss much. We really didn't notice them until then and it seems to be a rather rare encounter though. Still didn't felt like going in the water after that event on my last day there.

I took these images using my Nikon D700 and Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED & Nikkor 50 mm 1.8D lenses.









Hope you liked the post! Please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback...

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

Nice pic.
You have nice summer.
it's really fun to spend the summer there. from the photo you share I can see if it is very beautiful

Fantastic Photography..!

Many thanks! :)

Stunning pictures, sounds amazing, apart from the weeverfish, what a scary encounter for your dad.

Thanks! We really had a blast, apart from the annoying fish. I would definitely wear water shoes the next time I go in the water there, even though the chances seem to be really small.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10