Diwali - The Hindu festival of lights captured in Copenhagen.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


The Diwali festival of lights is generally regarded to be as important to the Hindus as Christmas is to Christians. The word Diwali has its roots in the Sanskrit word Deepavali, meaning "rows of lighted lamps". These lamps, that people celebrating this festival light up are called diyas. Hindus celebrate the return of the deities Rama and Sita to Ayodhya following their long, 14-year exile. Another reason for celebration is the day Mother Goddess Durga managed to destroy a demon that is referred to as Mahisha. Sikhs in particular celebrate the sixth guru's, Hargobind Singh, release from prison in 1619. But Sikhs have been celebrating this festival before 1619. (Source: BBC)

This event marks the Hindu New Year, it represents new beginnings and is seen as a sort of metaphor for self-improvement. It started off as a harvest festival, when people would celebrate the last harvest of the year, in autumn at the end of the season before winter sets in. You can read more about it in this National Geographic article.

The event I attended and decided to share these shots of, was of Indians living in Copenhagen that were celebrating the festival of lights. It was quite a lively affair and there were nice colorful dresses everywhere. There was a lot of music and different performances like the ones I am sharing here with dancers, singers and others.

I captured these using my Nikon D700 and a Nikkor 50 mm 1.8 D & a Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED lens. The lighting conditions were quite challenging for the 24-85 so I was struggling a bit to use that one. Made me want a faster lens in that range but here they are:







Hope you like the post and please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback...

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

Great shots of this event and explanation of Diwali truly an important time for Indians I had the fortune to be in India a couple of times for Diwali and was such an amazing time to experience

Thank you! Nice that you got to experience the "authentic" one over in India :) (difficult to label these things really). I wish I get to see it over there too one day. Thanks for the visit!

I hope you do get the chance it is one of my fondest memories from my time there

I love those energetic shots you took.

The colors are vibrant and the contain a cheerful mood. Thank you very much for sharing. I'll also have a look at your other posts right now but this one caught my attention in particular.

Thanks, @creutzy - Upvoted

xx
Elena

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57