Harper Lake: An Oasis in the Mojave Desert

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

20171210_102443.jpg
This weekend, we toured the Black Mountain Wilderness for my birthday, and Harper Lake was our first stop.

20171210_101706.jpg

The marsh area is just a tiny fraction of the huge dry lake basin.

20171210_102516.jpg

The grass and reeds provide food and shelter for birds and mammals. The area is crisscrossed with game trails, and the air is alive with birds.

20171210_101821.jpg

Here is a very short video of the swirling flock of gnat catchers:

20171210_101958.jpg

Huge solar power facilities make clean energy and release puffs of steam adjacent to the wildlife refuge.

20171210_101745.jpg

My dog loves following game trails as much as I do! He was not allowed to get wet or drink, however, because of the salt crust forming on the perimeter. Alkaline water can be hazardous to our health.

20171210_100130.jpg

Black Mountain beckons in the distance.

20171210_110110.jpg

We tore across the white silt of the dry lake bed to enter the volcanic canyon ahead. I am eager to discover as many petroglyphs there as possible, stay tuned for part 2!

Thank you so much for reading and following. I want to give a big shoutout to all 602 of my followers! Your upvotes made this trip possible. I cashed out my 50 sbd when it was at $12, otherwise my bday would have been a stay-cation. I am filled with gratitude and Steem Pride!

Remember, every meaningful comment gets my upvote.
Have a blessed day, and may your desert always hold a gem of lifegiving water.
Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Sort:  

First of all: Happy Birthday!!!

Second, I am so incredibly happy that you got to take advantage of the SBD price and have an incredible experience and go somewhere amazing. The picture of your dog with the birds in the distance made me want to throw on my shoes and run outside for a hike through the woods.

Looking forward to part two!

Thank you so much for the birthday wishes! I am glad I inspire you to head for a hike <3

Part two coming right up! I take soooo many photos on our 4wd excursions, editing them is a delightful overwhelm ;)

I hope the steem market is treating you with excellence, too. I am thrilled to be a part of this amazing community!

Awesome! Which state is that?

California, near the city of Barstow :)

Happy Birthday @creationofcare!


❤ What a awesome present!

Thank you @shasta! It was outstanding, and I appreciate your contribution so much! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.34
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66