Syncarpha Vestita or “Everlasting”/ Afrikaans = Sewejaartjies

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

20170324_102204.jpg

Looking for a plant to help creating a beautiful picture in your garden which shines and shimmers in the sunlight, then you need this baby. This little flower, when dried can keep its shape and color for many years this the reason for its name, “Everlasting” and its popularity in the dried flower industry. The Greek name Syncarpha comes from “syn” which means ‘united’, “karphos” meaning ‘scale’ or something that is small and dry, “vestita” means ‘clothed’. The Afrikaans name “Sewejaartjies” (“seven years”, unfortunately the direct translation to English does not work very well for a flower) derived from the fact that this plant disappears from their specific spot in the veld after seven years.

20170324_102117.jpg

There are 30 species and they are mostly confined to Southern Africa. This is an evergreen plant with silver green-grey leaves; white, yellow or pink papery petals which close on overcast days and at night. You can find them in sandy flats or stony slopes between the fynbos. They flower during our summer months (December till February) but can start as early as spring (September) and continue till early autumn (April).

20170324_102053.jpg

They have soft woody stems, are tough, enjoy full sun and can easily survive drought. You can propagate these plants by stem cuttings in summer or dividing the roost in spring. Their seeds germinate after a fire and it is thus a fire ephemeral.

All photos taken with a Nikon L840.

Keep loving, smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!

Sort:  

Pragtige blommetjies en hulle groei so maklik. Dankie vir die artikel en pragtige foto :)

Baie dankie Renate. Jou resepte lyk heerlik, sal jou volg.

Baie dankie :-)

absolutely beautiful flowers, great post @crazymumzysa

Thank you adrianobalan. I love what nature has to offer to us and it makes me happy to explore and do research on the objects of my photos.

Afrikaans = Sewejaartjies

Ek het nog nooit daai naam hehoor nie. Dis 'n moois naam..

Nooit, dracosalieri. Hierdie blommetjies is baie bekend. Lekker om in Afrikaans hier op steemit te kan gesels. Geniet ñ heerlike naweek

Ek sien hulle oorals maar ek het net nog nooit die naam gehoor nie. Dit is 'n baie mooi naam.

Dit is wat steemit so briljant maak, ons leer elke dag iets nuuts hier.

Hi @crazymumzysa, nice post, I must get myself some, I would not like it disappearing on me after 7 years - 7 year itch??

At least they are better than the seasonal plants and 7 years is not bad, I think. Thanks rynow.

That is for sure and they are water wise!!

Very lovely. Especially the first shot.

Thank you ace108. Unfortunately the others did not come out nicely and I am not sure what I did wrong. I was still very new when I used it.

You are welcome. I guess sometimes when rushing to the focus is out:-)

Beautiful little abundant flowers :)

Thank you jeffjagoe. It is one of my favorites maybe because I attached sentimental value to it as my ex gave me a dried one which I preserved for over 18 years in a small glass bottle. For me it was the most romantic and beautiful gift.

nice post and beautiful pictures ;) enjoy your day :)

Wow! they are so beautiful! the flowers in the first pic so unreal! love them. thanks for sharing!! followed! :)

Great pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48