You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daffodils early bloom: a symbol of rebirth and new beginnings

Here in Bulgaria they have a wonderful tradition called Baba Marta celebrated on March 1st.
The folklore is Baba Marta or Grandmother March as she is called does her spring cleaning, ready for spring. We all wear a red and white band around our wrist on the first of march which we give to each other, then when Baba shakes her rugs the snow represents the dust off the rugs. Then as the snow goes and we see either the first spring flower or stork, we hang our martenitsi bands on a tree, to keep the bad spirits away.

Sort:  

Aww that is such a beautiful tradition and I love all the folklore about it. I will be looking it up. I collect books with myths and traditions. Thanks for sharing :)

I have been to Bulgaria 3 times and I love seeing the red and white bands hanging in the trees. I haven't been there at the right time of year to see the storks...next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48