Supercell Thunderstorm

20170721_161907.jpg

Supercell Thunderstorm Moving In

The day I took this picture it was 100 degrees and so humid it was suffocating. This thunderstorm developed around 4:30 in the afternoon. It stayed north of my home town, and produced damaging winds, hail, torrential rain, and some rotation that triggered tornado warnings in a few counties.

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Wow scary! We had a pretty close call up here a few weeks back too. I literally saw the beginnings of a tornado starting to form about a mile away. But it didn't quite make it, and the storm passed very quickly :)

That does look threatening. Not directly overhead, but still.

By the time I could get away from the buildings and take a photo of the storm formation, it had gotten too big and close to capture the entirety.

Are you sure it was a good idea to get away from the buildings in the first place? 8-)

I like toast 🍞

What do you photo graph?

Toast. I like toast.

I take pictures some times.

These supercells are always captivating. I was lucky to see one this year very close, and it produced continuous lightning flashes continuously (not lightning cloud floor). Besides, I did not find on the net a storm showing an even more intense frequency concerning the keraunic activity under a single cell

It definitely benefits one to know the types of cloud formations that can lead to deadly weather.
I used to have a ton of interest in metrology.

Me, too. It would be a very interesting line of work/study.

Great post, nice photos and I love your photo! @countryinspired

Congratulations @countryinspired! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

There is no mistaking that formation - especially if you've spent any amount of time in the Midwest.

Nice picture non the less,. Nature never disappoints.

I love the clouds, I could cloud watch for a good while :)

Wowww amazing photo. Have a nice day! <3 @countryinspired

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76