You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Snake in the Grass - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry 2 - SPC 29 - with ID info and 6 more photos

Those are some beautiful snakes! We have a ton of common Garter snakes here. Bull Snakes are very common, too. They are not venomous, but are highly aggressive. Although I haven't seen a Rattle Snake here in Iowa, they are around but are highly reclusive.

Sort:  

These Red-spotted Garter Snakes always catch me by surprise with their bright colors. They are so pretty. We have other ones, but not near so colorful. Garter snakes must be the most common snake around! That's neat you have Bull Snakes, even if they are aggressive. We had a lot of them in Kansas where I grew up. They are so "snake-y", a real snake's snake. Poor rattlesnakes. They have to be reclusive these days. Tough being a poisonous snake around people!

We actually had a small Bull Snake in our house last summer. We kept hearing one of the cats playing with something. We saw that it was a Bull Snake, so I took it outside to let it go. I actually had a cat that used to hang around my garage that hunted snakes. He killed them and left them to rot on the garage floor.

I bet that Bull Snake in the house gave you a start! Some cats are such dedicated snake hunters. I had a cat that was great at bringing me live garter snakes. In our wet winters, the snakes are gone, but nightcrawlers come out. Then she would bring me big nightcrawlers, but with such a sense of disgust with them and their worm slime. They were a poor substitute for a dry, tidy snake.

You could have kept the worms for fishing bait.

haha -- In the winter, we get a lot of rain. I can go outside and hear the water draining through the big holes of the nightcrawlers. It's pretty amazing. And in the winter, they are all through my older compost bins. In the summer, they go down more than 6 feet. Only the little wigglers are left near the surface, where there's moisture. Nightcrawlers are interesting creatures. And yes, I should go fishing! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65