Macro Photography / A Wasp, a Praying Mantis and a Jumping Spider.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

wasp.jpg

This yellow Jacket Wasp met its unfortunate end at the hands of my dog Sulley. The bugger is lucky he didn't get stung.

mantis.jpg

I love photographing Mantids, if you get the opportunity you'll be amazed at how much interaction they give you.

Flavia Sp.jpg

Last but not least, Jumping Spiders. Like the Mantids these wonderfully playful spiders will give you bags of curisoity and unique behavior if you have the patience.

Hope you enjoyed today's dose of macro. I finally got my computer back and access to my portfolio of work.
Cotton xXx

Camera / Canon 700D/t5i
Lenses / Canon STM 18-55mm & Pentax Asahi 50mm f1.8
Additonal / Reverse ring & Flash

Sort:  

Wasps (more alive than yours) and a jumping spider I had the pleasure to shoot. Still waiting for the mantis :)

I was waiting on a Mantis for ages and I came home from a shoot and there was the one you see on my shoulder haha. I released it un harmed afterwards.

Haha cool! I don't even know if they live here... I saw stickbugs, but not mantis.

Rock on! Solid photos. Do you mind sharing the body and lens you're using? I'm a Canon fanboy. #ishootcanons

Yeah sure. I used the Canon 700d, the kit lens 18-55mm reversed using a reverse ring (a Pentax 50mm reversed for the Wasp) and a Neewer Flash gun with a cereal box for a diffuser. Glad you like them.

Great post. The mantis is awesome. I have a video somewhere of a mantis catching and eating a bumblebee. Cool stuff.

I love macro photography. Beautiful things don't have to be big to impress

Hello @cottonlazarus. Thank you for sharing your photos.

Friendly Reminder:
1. If you shoot this photo yourself but share at other web site before post on Steemit, please remember to link back to the web site because Cheetah is very clever.
2. If you share someone else photos, please remember to link back the sources of the photos and add some value by adding your own thought or comment.

Photography Slogan: A camera that puts a world of possibilities at your fingertips. Literally.

Thanks for the reminder. Pretty sure I haven't posted these photos anywhere online before today. There is also a link on my website to my steemit blog :)

Don't think I'd ever get that close to a wasp... even a dead one xD

So jealous of the beautiful mantis though! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33