Film Fridays #1 / Reflectography, the glory of shooting reflections on 35mm.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

4.jpg

I started shooting reflections with my various 35mm cameras about 2 years ago. I was actually trying to achieve some sneaky street photography in my local area of Leith by shooting through shop windows, but when I developed the results they were quite different from what I'd planned. I love it, it gives you an insight into a particular time and place, the images have many layers and this makes them interesting to look at time and time again.

2.jpg

Perhaps you could call it a glimpse behind the camera. When i'm shooting reflections I always use the sunny 16 rule. And I try to keep my aperture as low as possible so that all elements of the image are in focus. I don't really plan it to much, just shoot as I go when ever I see light hit a window.

3.jpg

Black and white images work better, the different contrasts separate the two perspectives captured. With colour elements blend more and colours can clash and look odd.

9.jpg
This image is two reflections captured as a double exposed image. The image is very busy and messy, sort of a failed experiment. So keep it simple.

MELBOURNE-BALI-14.jpg
This is my favourite reflectography image, captured by accident at an Airport in Perth Australia. It is a self-portrait I took late at night, without realising the plane I would board accidentally featured in the final shot. And funnily enough it was a plane that almost crashed in Indonesia. Probably one of the worst experiences of my life.

Have a great day and start shooting 35mm. It's cheap, rewarding, hipster and bags of fun.
Cotton xXx

Sort:  

I love shooting reflections! These shots are great :D

thanks, love your Pokemon paintings :)

I love angles like this, it really helps in developing one's creativity.
Nice one friend :)

Cheers steemlifestyle!

Great post and really nice to see.. So I'm not that weird then ! Love the shop window stories and I think your failed experiment is excellent. I cant' quite tell which people are the real ones ! UV

Yes, that's the beauty of it!

Nice work, I think my favorite is that last one.

I've not shot many reflections, it's rare that I see an image I want in a reflection. I do however take photos of any broken mirrors and windows I find, they always create interesting images.

fun photography! I'm glad you survived the near crash!

very cool.

I enjoy reflections photos @cottonlazarus, I doubt they can ever go uninteresting. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks @photo-trail, your posts are the best thing on here, for me anyway.

the plane almost crashed ???? wow .... thank gowd you are safe .... love the shots @cottonlazarus

I like B&W photography :) And very good post :)

super cool ! check my work, i shoot film as well ! upvoted !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92