How To Take Concert Photos Like a Boss - Part II

in #photography8 years ago

I wanted to take a quick moment and append another concept to my previous blog regarding concert photography! This is something I'm asked about quite a bit and felt it deserved it's own post. It may be helpful to you, it may not, but my goal here is to at least get you to approach photography with a fresh mindset and perhaps a different perspective!

When you're shooting shows, it doesn't have to be just about the band.

Sure, you're there to take photos of the band, but don't forget the detail shots! I have this thing where I love getting shots of the artist's feet and guitar pedals on the stage. These shots never usually see the light of day, but I find them interesting because you can tell so much about the musicians by looking at their shoes. haha
I love taking shots of peoples' cell phones as they're taking video/photos. I think that offers up the coolest perspective!

Also, if you can get a backstage pass, images of the band getting ready are also some of my favorites! These I would consider to be more journalistic shots, which I love because I think you can truly capture the artists' personalities and mannerisms.

(John Mark McMillan)

Also, don't get so focused on the lead singer you forget to shoot the rest of the band!

(The Vespers)


(NEEDTOBREATHE)

(Outcry Tour)

If you'd like to see more concert photos, be sure and check out my Website as well as my Instagram

Thanks for taking the time to read my Steemit posts! It really means a lot to me! :)

Sort:  

Thx 4 Posting
^ upvoted!

Thank you so much!

these are some good tips and excellent photos
love that pic of the drummer

I'm curious of your opinion on motion in concert photos. I've dabbled in some concert shoots, and one of my friends who works with bands and music scene was saying he liked my pics but thought they all seemed too static, lacking motion. I've gone the other extreme and tried to do some zoom blurs or just long shutters to get more movement, though not to great effect. What do you think about motion in music photos?

for example :
foxygen in brussels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30