Dutch Speculaas cookies recipe

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

cookie.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I will be sharing with you these amazing speculaas cookies. These cookies are crunchy and simply delicious. I can just bake these cookies again and again, and if you are a cookie monster like me than these would be perfect for you.

trayofcookies.jpg

At college I study food technology where one of my assignment was to make these cookies. We had to reduce the volume of sugar in the recipe. The cookies had to taste, look and have the same texture as the original recipe. So to tackle the problem we first baked these cookies with different ratios of sugar to determine how much we could reduce the sugar content.
We baked the cookies with 100% sugar, 75%, 50% and 0% sugar. We made the cookies also with 0% sugar to show case what kind of effect sugar has on the color and texture of the cookies. The cookies were very pale and fell apart very easily. So the challenge when it comes to reducing the sugar content is of course the sweetness but also to find a solution for the texture and color.

crisp.jpg

The fun thing about a project like this is that there are so many options to explore. At this moment we are going to start the development stage of the project.

This talk about cookies makes we want to eat cookies. So today I will be sharing the original recipe and I will keep you all updated when we developed the new recipe. One thing I love about baking is that even with a simple recipe you are able to create lovely results. Whenever it is time for the colder days, I always love to eat spiced cookies. And what not better way to enjoy this fall with speculaas spiced cookies. Grab a homemade cookie, a delicious cup of tea and you’re favorite Netflix show. But first we need to make this a reality by baking these lovely cookies.

cookiii.jpg

speculaascookies.jpg

speculaascookiestea (1).jpg

DUTCH SPECULAAS COOKIE RECIPE

Prep Time: 25 mins

Cook Time: 10 mins

Total Time: 35 minutes

Yield: 50 cookies

Category: Cookie

INGREDIENTS

• 225 gram unsalted butter
• 500 gram flour
• 20 gram baking powder
• 300 gram cane sugar
• 5 gram teaspoon fine sea salt
• 50 gram buttermilk
• 30 gram speculoos spices

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Position racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheat to 150 degrees. Line 2 rimless cookie sheets with parchment paper.

  2. Add all the dry ingredients inside the bowl and make sure that everything is combined.

  3. After you combined all the dry ingredients you are able to add the butter and buttermilk to the mixture.

  4. Kneed everything together until everything is combined.

  5. Put the dough for in the refrigerator for 1 hour. This will make it easier to roll the dough and cut the cookie shapes. Place the cookies on the baking sheet, spacing them at least 2 inches apart.

  6. Bake the cookies for +- 30 minutes. Now you are able to enjoy you’re cookies at room temperature or when they are still nice and warm.

Sort:  

Dear Cookiemonster,
I love the Netherlands and your recipe of dutch cookies and even if I'm vegan, I will prepare them for my husband..
I love your fotos and how your arranged the details. Very nice.
Thank you for this delicious recipe..
Maybe you like to refollow me? @tinahusemann

Hmm wonder if you could replace the butter for coconut oil.. and make vegan buttermilk!!?
https://veganfoodaddict.wordpress.com/tag/how-to-make-vegan-buttermilk/

If you attempt it I'd be really interested in how they came out!

Thank you for your idea... I thought about using vegan margarine... If I found out how it works... I let you know...

Can be really tricky making substitutions especially with baking because you've got to get those chemical reactions to fire in the oven! Best of luck I hope it works!

Hello :) I am glad you like the post. As @dayleeo said maybe you are able to subsitute it with vegan buttermilk or an oil. Afcours I will follow you. The fantastic vegan poppy cake on you're page looks amazing <3. And will love to know if your husband enjoys them :D

I'll keep you informed.... Instead of butter I'll try to use vegan margarine like alsana ... it's more like butter...

Yes would love to know, I hope it will turn out great :)

mmmm!!! one of my favorite cookies ever!! thank you for sharing this!

I am glad you like them :D Speculaas cookies are also one of my favorite :)

This may be a silly question but have you ever had speculaas cookie butter!! It's divine!

No haven't tried it yet but it sounds amazing! Whenever i bake cookies, I always eat some of the cookie dough which I Love 💕 This dough doesn't have any eggs which makes it a safe cookie dough treat ☺️

OOooohhh see, i like the way you think! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64876.15
ETH 3157.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55