SFX Makeup Photography. 😍

in #photography7 years ago

67845678.JPG

I've been lucky enough to work with some of the local beauty schools here in Dublin. They also do SFX courses, and it's so much fun to shoot.


All of these shots were shot with my Nikon D750 and either the Sigma 85mm 1.4 HSM lens or the Nikkor 105mm Macro, which allows me to focus that bit closer.

They also utilize various versions of the Lastolite collapsible backdrop, which is an amazing tool for turning ordinary rooms into viable shooting scenes.

865754.JPG

Lighting: Godox X1 system, usually one or two TT685n flashes, sometimes 3 or 4. Look at the catchlights for clues about what modifier is used in each case. If you're looking for a cheap off-camera "strobist" set up, I would recommend the Godox X1 system. The same trigger that you use for the flashes can also be used on the bigger Godox strobes, making the upgrade path very straightforward. If you shoot Canon, the Yongnuo stuff is superb value.

56467457.JPG

All images edited with Lightroom (I've since moved to Capture One) and Photoshop. Unfortunately, due to time constraints, I'm not unable to spend long hours perfecting the retouching on each photo. In a typical day in the beauty academies, I might shoot anywhere between 8 and 20 models, with each MUA requiring up to 4, sometimes more images. Do the maths and that adds up to a lot of time retouching, even if you only spend 15 minutes on each image!

346547.JPG

Regardless, it's terrific fun and has given me some cool shots for the portfolio. I'm shooting some SFX makeup in 2 weeks, so stay tuned for more!

4545454.JPG

Upvotes, comments and resteems grately appreciated.
If you resteem me, please let me know ;)

Oh, and Happy Hardfork!



Shot in LA Academy, Dublin
Words and images: @condra

Sort:  

Those backdrops look awesome - thanks for the link.. think I must have missed that one. Nice work, and yeah, happy spork day! (i love seeing my upvotes go up by over $1.50! I have the power!

Thanks dude. Yeah they're great!

Great stuff man, you got some quality stuff right there.
Stuff like this deserves resteem :]

Much appreciated dude. Giving you some love.

Awesome make up, I really like it so creative! :D

WISH! <3
Thanks for the comment. So glad to have all these awesome new buddies from Steem Speak.

Stunning work as always!

Thanks dude.

Awesome Work Condra ... love it ..
If you want some extra cash from steemit You may need to read this post. https://steemit.com/photography/@slefesteem/make-some-extra-cash-from-steemit-if-you-are-photographer

Thanks for the heads up!

Wow! Absolutely love the amount of detail put into these images. Keep up the great work 😁✨

THanks so much for the meaningful comment.

@condra nice post bro

JIMJAM!!! THanks dude. And congrats on your success with Hard Fork! Worked out very well for you dude.

I love the fourth one. It looks like they paid a lot of attention to the details.

Cheers Diana! yeah it's cool innit!

really creative! :) great work!

These are really good quality. What do you shoot on?

Thanks very much. Nikon D750.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74