Photoshoot - Why Choose Black & White?

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

4545454.JPG

It's perhaps surprising how strongly some people feel about the subject of black and white versus color photography.


There are still plenty of die-hard mono fans out there who would never dream of shooting color. Many of us shoot both color and monochrome, depending on the situation. I adore color and rarely output in mono, but sometimes I will, if I feel the shots lend themselves to it.

There are two scenarios where I will go for black and white. The first scenario is when shooting an aesthetic that features interesting lines, curves or shapes. Black and white photos can really accentuate shape and form, creating visceral impact, and leaving no doubt about the intentions of the photographer.

The other scenario is when I feel the subject matter has a classic, vintage or timeless feel. The shoot on this page had that as far as the styling went, and indeed, those sunglasses are also geometrically interesting, so for both reasons, I chose black and white for this shoot.

545455.JPG

1212121.JPG


Nikon D750. Sigma 85mm 1.4 HSM.
Model: Mary-Kate
Styled by the one and only Leanne Woodfull


Do you shoot color or mono? And why?

Sort:  

Black and white photography allows for greater examination of the photo beyond colour. It draws the eye in to details that may be easy to miss with the distraction of colour. However colour also has its place. Especially where it enhances the picture in an unexpected flash of detail against a more reserved background. To each his (or her) own :-)

Great comment. Thanks for taking the time to write that.

Do you shoot in color then convert to b/w? Or do you switch the camera itself to B/W during the shoot?
The reason I ask is because of color filters, which alter the b/w result. I personally don't own any physical color filters, so I'll usually shoot actually in color, then convert so I can have my choice of digital color filter later.

On the other hand, there are times when I like to switch over to monochrome, but I tend to avoid it just for the fact that I'll forget to switch it back.

ALSO...I've noticed - on Canon anyway - that if I shoot RAW in monochrome, the RAW file is still in color if I should want to take advantage of going b/w in post.

I convert in post. I like the control, where I can make greens dark, pop the skin tones, etc.

That was my exact next question for you!
Great answer! ;)

Hello my friend . Beautiful photography

There is one more reason to shoot B/W, like @g-no well pointed out – sometimes colour can simply distract viewer’s attention focus. Great job again, as usual @condra. Upvoted, resteemed & today you have a double feature in DPS 😊

Hi Condra, you are like telepathic. Your post hits home. I am a true believer of black and white photography. So love this post.

Thanks so much for the resteem. Yeah I do have a soft spot for black and white shots myself.

My photography is in color because I am documenting the colors as part of my image. If I were more interested in contrasts and textures, I could see B&W being far more useful.

Colour mostly, but that's because they are for marketing (website) purposes. Personally i love these edited ones:
b4653ba3189689abba27eacf41da8e2f.jpg

Wow that's a really punchy effect. I've never tried that kind of editing. Must give it a shot some time.

i can appreciate the creative mind set involved in this image. The great Albert Einstein said, "Imagination is more important than knowledge."

Nice shots!! I tend to go with black and white if i feel like skin tone isnt just right or i feel like it sets a different tone. Again.. great shots!

Thanks for the comment. Great point about skin tone. Indeed, if there is some weird mixed lighting like tungsten with daylight, black & white can be a real savior.

I use my phone or my action cam actually, but I enjoy dance and making videos to improve myself. Black and white has very rich texture that u can't help but to enjoy.
Thanks for sharing!!! STEEM on.
1 By 1.

Hey thanks for the comment! Following you now!

EVERYBODY deserves a CHANCE at something GREAT. I have been making it a point to surround myself with great people. EVERYTHING happens for a REASON but when you have GREAT people behind you, POSSIBILITIES are ENDLESS. LOVE your WORK. STEEM on.
1 By 1.

Very kind of you. Thanks so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46