Photography - "Snails In The Rain"

in #photography7 years ago

If you grow Hostas, you might not like these little dudes, but snails are terrific subjects for macro photography.


I've shot snails in a variety of mini studio set-ups over the years. They make great subjects for loosely conceptual shots, which sell well as stock. These snails were placed on a wet tile and shot as they curiously explored the scene. The rain was added in post.

xxxxxx.jpg

As models go, they usually don't have the same diva tendencies as humans. Like any good model, snails will happily munch on some lettuce in the green room while waiting for you to get set up.

564574.JPG

Of course, here in Ireland the weather changes at the drop of a hat. Wasn't long before the sun came out and it was time for fun.

5858654.JPG

Seriously though, this skateboarding snail is one of my better selling stock images. I guess there is a loose concept of speed, getting places etc. The sky was superimposed. It obviously looks a bit cheesy, but for whatever reason, it seems to resonate well with Shutterstock customers.

When I'm finished with them, the snails are carefully placed back in the garden bushes.




All shots Nikon D750. 105mm Nikkor. Godox TT685. X1
No snails were harmed in this photoshoot. I <3 them.
If you resteem this post, be sure to let me know!

Sort:  

Brilliant! - up till now I never knew snail photography was a thing - but it seems to be a cult...

You need to check out "snail friends" on instagram. lol

These are awesome! I saw the resteem via @photo-trail. It reminded me of an oil painting I once did of a snail in the rain. :)

That looks amazing. You should make a post out of it!

Beautiful painting

Damn, they eat all my vegetable!
But they are so cute! :)

I know! They're adorable. But yeah they kill my hostas. I usually release them in front of the house but they find their way around the back no problem. They go crazy for lettuce too. It's like catnip to them.

Yes they find in every corner, every high I put... Slow but stubborn

Yeah, they're good at hiding too.

ehehe yeah, I think they play us :(

Normally I would down vote because of snails eat my veggies, but those suckers look great close up.

Lol. They didn't mean it! They're just hungry! hehe

I LOVE THESE!! I think I am going to have to try some snail shots. Thanks for the inspiration @condra

skateboarding snail is great haha.. Love it.. I want it as my background kinda!

It wasn't my idea. I turned my head for 2 seconds and he was off!

haha well nice. Following now to see what you post next. Good luck on steemit. If I can ever help, let me know!

Wow, some spectacular macro work @condra! I've tried my hand with macro with little luck, I need a better lens! upvoted & following

Hey cheers. You can get pretty good macro lenses for cheap these days, or use extension tubes to make a regular lens more macro-ish. Worth spending money on a good macro lens though. Very addictive and fun hobby.

Absolutely, I have a decent 50mm just need more practice. What camera and lens were you using for this shoot?.... if you don't mind me asking

Nikon D750 with 105mm Macro lens. I think I was stopped down to like f22 for good sharp DOF. Using strobes helped with that too.

Thanks for the info, are you running manual or auto focus when you do macro?...sorry for the questions but you're obviously a pro and I can't help but pick your brain after seeing these shots!

Very creative aproach @condra. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

These are awesome shots. I hope to get a macro lens soon. :)

Thanks Pratick. I like your name. One of the most famous retouchers in the world is named Pratik Naik.

Nice fact. I just researched Pratick Naik, good stuff. thx for the info. :)

I have a love hate relationship with them. I think they are cute and will happily move them off paths, but I hate what they do to my seedlings- but I don't use slug pellets so I have to expect them to take advantage of the free buffet right!

I'm so glad you don't use those things. I had many fights with my parents growing up about their use of slug pellets. They are hard to control though, no doubt.

I have the sticky copper tape- but they tend to ignore it, lol!

One day when I was about 8, myself and my best friend Michelle decided to collect as many snails as we could find in all the gardens in the neighbourhood. Then we made a little snail house in the middle of my garden. We ended up getting about 150. Didn't go down so well with my mom when she found out the next day.

Haha, that's awesome. Did she have any plants left?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65422.12
ETH 3433.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31