Photography - Bloom Garden Festival Dublin 2017

in #photography7 years ago

4325.JPG

Lupins, Dahlias, Rhododendrons, and other flowering plants that I adore. Dublins annual "Bloom" Festival is like an Irish version of the RHS Chelsea Flower Show.


I've visited three years in a row now. It's a fantastic opportunity to see and photograph copious plants and flowers. Set on a massive plot in the middle of Dublins Phoenix Park, visitors are treated to all kinda of stalls, displays, gardens and performances. It runs for five days each year and attracts a huge crowd.

2323222.JPG

As always, I came home with a massive haul of photos, and I wanted to share some quick picks with you here. Unfortunately this year I could only make it on the weekend so it was very crowded and that meant I couldn't spend my time composing each photo. Last year I was able to go on a midweek morning, and in future I will be making sure to go during such a quiet time. If you're ever in Ireland during the summer, this event should be high on your list, assuming you have an interest in gardening or photography.

23232.JPG

643563.JPG

765756.JPG

45433.JPG

121211.JPG

888.JPG

346324.JPG

764875845.JPG


All photos - Nikon D750. Nikkor 105mm VR Micro. Godox TT685.


11121.JPG

Location: Phoenix Park, Dublin, Ireland.

Sort:  

Wonderful macros @condra. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Never looked as beautiful as it looks now

Very kind of you. Cheers!

Great flowers! the 7th one is really amazing actually, you didn't write down the names did you?
Resteemed.

Thanks for the resteem dude! I wasn't able to get ID on them all unfortunately, but both of the red flowers are Dahlias, and the bottom pic is a type of Lupin. The top white flower is a Calla Lily and the one underneath is a Rhododendron.

Best set of flower pix I've seen in a while here! Excellent work @condra

These flowers and pictures are lovely!

WOWWWWW thank you for sharing

Bloody hell some fantastic pictures how do you get them to look like that . Fantastic cheers mike

Thanks for the kind words. They are all lit with a combination of ambient light and flash. Usually the flash is modified with something like a Roundflash, but sometimes simply bounced off the ceiling if conditions are right. At the Bloom festival, most of the displays are under huge white tents, so that helps a lot too. Direct sunlight is the enemy!

Lovely pictures I'm only just starting only got a canon eos 1300d but should be ok for me I hope cheers mike

1300d is a very capable camera for sure, but you'll need a macro lens to get really close and really sharp. The "non L" Canon Macro is about 300 bucks and it's amazing, although the third party macros are also great, like the Tamron 90mm and Sigma 105mm.

Thanks I will have to look for one soon for sure, cheers mike

A very beautiful post. I am a person who really wants to collect flowers photos. Several times I took a picture of the flowers but the result until now has not been so satisfactory.
I hope you can give me his tips for me. Do you use macro camera? Until now I still use my HP Craze camera to take pictures.
This is a great art. Congratulations for you. I hope i can be like you

Terrific! I am delighted!

Cheers!

Beautiful photography, well done

Love the macros. I used to do photography quite a bit a few years ago, but never mastered macro photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50