Photo Kit - Preparing For A Promo Shoot

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

frog-1347642_960_720.jpg

I have a shoot later today and wanted to detail some preparations and considerations.


I was always interested in the photography thought process, as it combines creativity with problem solving, and when shooters share their thought process, there is a lot one can learn.

Different shoots require different kit, and over time you can amass a fair amount to choose from. Of course, you can bring ALL your kit to every shoot, and I know some who take that approach, but personally, I prefer to bring only what I need, with a little extra for contingency purposes, of course.

Some choices will be based on your personal style, but many practical matters should be taken into consideration. Today I'll be shooting some promo shots for a pantomime group. We're going to their local park where I will be photographing the main three characters together in a mock tea-party. They have sorted out the location and props, which allows me to focus more on photography and less on the wider logistics.

lens-1148917_960_720.jpg

First things first.

Some items I bring to every shoot. Obviously my camera, with a fully charged battery, spare battery and spare memory card. I also bring a "normal prime" lens to every shoot. Formerly the Nikkor 50mm 1.8, but more recently the Tamron 45mm 1.8 VC. My Gorillapod and reflector tend to go everywhere too.

Do I need to bring a zoom lens?

Personally, I won't bring a zoom lens unless I have to, and today, I won't have to. Zooms are essential when you need to capture moments in dynamic situations but today I will have time to pose my subjects however I wish. There will be three people in the shot, so I imagine the 45mm prime lens will suit such a scenario well. For headshots, a longer lens of 85mm+ would be best, and for environmental portraiture, a wide angle lens is a must. I'll bring a couple of other lenses today just in case, (28mm/105mm) but I imagine they will stay in the car.

raincoat-1245688_960_720.jpg

Weather considerations.

I've shot in all kinds of weather and by far my least favorite is windy! Unfortunately a storm is brewing in Western Europe and the breeze is picking up today so that will have to be taken into account. I'm hoping to be able to light the scene, but wind can wreak havoc with light modifiers such as umbrellas. My first port of call in inclement weather is to have a great assistant come with me. A great photography assistant (as opposed to a reluctant one!) will hold lights, shelter talent under umbrellas, and generally be a force for good in counteracting the problems weather can give you. I'll also be bringing sand bags for the light stands, and in case the wind really picks up, I'll have my Rayflash adapter. It's a ring flash adapter for regular strobes, designed to be used on-camera, but in fact, it is the closest thing I have to a wind-proof light modifier for off-camera flash.

Batteries and cards!

This goes without saying, but you should have a very organised approach to batteries and memory cards. I have a spare battery for my Nikon D750, and a handful of memory cards. I have dozens of Eneloop Pro AA batteries for my Godox flashes, and charging begins the day before the shoot.

Shot list!

So I've picked my kit and will bring more than I need. I'll run through everything and make sure I'm well prepared. This is the point one might make a shot list. I was in touch with the theater people yesterday and we ran through some ideas. I'll be making sure to get the main shot we discussed, but also a mixture of close-ups and wide shots, in portrait and landscape modes. You'd be surprised how often landscape mode photos are required.

Once you have such preparations in place, you're free to focus more on creativity, and less on logistics. Finally, some general advice for paid shoots:

Be early, have caffeine, have fun!


Words: @condra
Images from Pixabay

Sort:  

Great advice...Make sure to double and triple check everything before going out of your adventure. A missing SD card or uncharged battery can make a fun trip, not so much fun.

Absolutely. It's never happened me but it would ruin my day. The closest was going out with flash batteries that weren't fully charged. I ended up having to wait about ten seconds between shots. Not the end of the world, but a pain in the ass, and a lesson learnt the hard way.

I never realized the amount of prep that goes into a photo.
I guess I'm just used to taking pictures on snapchat lol
Interesting stuff, always enjoy your posts condra!

Hey Bambi man! Thanks for your comment. Always appreciated.

Great post!

Thanks. You always make very kind comments!

Thank you for your interesting posts.

Good Technique
practice & Time investment makes your skills more sharp
Nice to read this Article

Thanks for your comment!

Interesting all the things you have to consider before a shooting

You could just go out with a camera and basic lens but it's reckless to be unprepared.

Yes but in that case compromise the quality

nice post condra

amazing post i like your way of explaining

Thanks for your comment. Glad the article was useful.

pleasure dear

hey mate , nice post :)

At us too a downpour, I try to photograph it. It's not working yet :)

Yeah its windy here. I hope it doesn't rain too!

interesting tips for photography! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36