Hard Light In Studio Photography

in #photography7 years ago

4534534.JPG

I talked about large light sources recently, so wanted to give some examples of using small light sources in studio photography to create hard light.


It's something I rarely do, but when the concept calls for it, I really like it. Where large light modifiers give soft and flattering light, small light modifiers (or no modifier) creates hard shadows and punchy, contrasty images. This can be used as a stylistic choice of course, to replicate direct sunlight, or simply for a youthful summer vibe.

7766575.JPG

Small light sources cast very noticeable shadows, but again, these can be included as a stylistic choice by putting your model up against the backdrop. As a "strobist" enthusiast, I rarely use studio lights, opting instead for small flashes. My modifier of choice for hard light is often a large white bounce card. This gives the shadows a little diffusion, while keeping the light punchy.

Photo-studio-Universal-font-b-Flash-b-font-font-b-Bounce-b-font-White-Reflector-font.jpg

As you can see, the light is hard and contrasty, while the shadow isn't overly edgy.

45445.JPG

Should you want the hardest shadow possible, you need not use any modifier, and get your model close to the background.

33433343.JPG

I should add, in case there is any doubt, that in all of these photos, the flashes were places off-camera and triggered with a Godox X1. There is a lot written about the benefits of huge light modifiers to create soft light, but as a stylistic choice, hard light has its place too.


Words & photos @condra
Models: Steph & Unknown
Nikon D750. Sigma 85mm 1.4 HSM. Godox X1/TT685.

Sort:  

Great captures @condra! This may be my favorite of your work on Steemit thus far! Oh, shit! I just realized you and I both shoot with D750's!

Thanks for the kind words! I avoided hard light for so long but I'm kinda enjoying it sometimes now. And yeah, since I got the D750 I don't feel like my camera is lacking in any way. It's about the tenth camera I've owned but my gearlust has been stopped completely. The dynamic range is superb, and 24mp is tons for what I do!

Nice Photo )

Wonderful shots. I Love the colour cast in the first two. Was that caught in camera of with post processing?

Nicely spotted. I put a little curve adjustment on them. Usually in the blue channel, giving it a bump in the shadows and cutting the highlights.

Nice shots and with all the necessary explanations @condra. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Cheers very much!

Great photography

Cheers!

I've avoided using flash as much as possible over the last few years (after obsessing over it before then), but when used with skill and some knowledge the results speak for themselves.
I'm looking into getting a pair of speed lights and a remote trigger for my new Fuji xt2. My last off-camera flash for my old canon slr and dslr needed a chord to connect hotshot to flash... I do have a pair of cheap Chinese/eBay stobes that put out decent light, bit of course aren't at all portable... want to get some more glass for the Fuji system first though... great shots btw

Thanks for the comment. I don't know much about the options available for Fuji, but as long as you're staying under the 1/200 (ish) sync speed, you could probably use any manual flash in optical slave mode.

Yeah, I'm looking at off brand flash units plus a slave Fuji have a couple, but of course you get more bang for your buck elsewhere. Not sure on how much to sink into it at this stage, as I really want the ultra wide Fuji 10-20mm lens too (equivalent to 15-30mm in 35mm/full frame). Thinking about selling some of my medium format (film) gear that's gathering dust, but can't let it go yet...

Can't let it go because of sentimental reasons?

Many years ago I trained in an old fender bass amp for something modern, huge and LOUD, and I've always regretted it. I did get 600 watts + a 2x 15inch speaker enclosure, but that 100watt all valve fender sounded so sweet, just not very loud... playing bass in a band in the 90s was all about stage presence and VOLUME! But those old 60's fender amps are hard to find now, and they sound great, and cost a small fortune. So now I look at my old cameras, which I bought second hand over 15~20 years ago, and think "what if I want to use that someday", or "what if one of my kids wants to use them"... they still take great pictures, just that film is a hassle once you get used to the instant digital world.

Maybe I'm working on a hoarding disorder (let's just call it a "collection" for now) ha!

Tough call. :)

Hoarding. You are a hoarder @azurejasper. A collection is organised and appreciated.
I am a hoarder enabler.
Let's call it a live in instillation art work. Because it is literally everywhere.
The amp regret is making sense too now.
There is post potential in our collections.
Some interesting pieces 😂

Great work! Followed and upvoted. Look forward to seeing more of your work.

She is really laughing in the first pic. Nice.

I don't know, I'm not convicted with those light sources. The shadow created just looks bad, unless you are going to replace background with something else. Although I must admit that tbe second photo looks great.
Yummy nerds..

The shadows were very much intentional, but absolutely not to everyones taste. I rarely use hard light.

Yes I can see that, it works best on the last photo though.

cool idea, thanks for sharing this with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42