The Only Ingredient for Good Photography is a Good Camera....Right?

There are countless photography tutorials across the internet. It feels like there is a separate tutorial for every human alive.

Some are good, some are bad. Some, just think they're good.

In early 2015 I was going through that phase every photographer goes through, where you are learning at such as rapid pace - your passion to learn is high, and you absorb every single bit of info you come across. It's at this stage, you almost start to believe that you're a natural.

I took some photos back then that floored me. I really thought they were amazing. Not in an arrogant way mind, I was genuinely proud of what I was producing. Problem was, being self-taught, I had no-one to clip my wings for me.

It's only been three years, but since then my learning has at first plateaued, then dipped, then freefalled. I look back at work I produced and realise just how far away from my goal I was. I still am - light years away. The difference is I can accept it, be grateful for it even. I still have no mentor to guide me, but I do have those older photographs. They can teach me more than any youtube tutorial.

I'll lay myself on the line for ridicule now by displaying one of my original "masterpieces". This is from a shoot with a model called Nicole but who goes by the moniker Ballsy Wallsy. We called the shoot "Space Balls" cause we're hip.

SpaceBalls-22.jpg

So, this is straight from camera with no further processing done - I didn't want to paper over the cracks here.

At the time, this shoot had it all... a friend designed the costume (an homage to an old movie that I can't remember), my wife Maria spent hours applying the bald cap and makeup, we had a smoke machine, and a photographer with university level hours of youtube education. What could go wrong.

Turns out my eye. My eye could go wrong. In so many many ways.

This image is so full of beginner errors, I'm sure I'll miss quite a few, but here's my list:

  • Model is facing square on to camera
  • Models hands are at the same level
  • Models shoulders are at the same level
  • Image is cropped at the models knees
  • The seams on the cuffs are facing the camera
  • There's loose thread on the silver breastpiece
  • She has jewellery on her fingers (doesn't match the look)
  • Ditto red nail varnish
  • The nail varnish is chipped
  • The image has no breathing space on the left
  • The dent on the breastpiece should have been straightened out

OK, I admit a lot of these could be corrected in photoshop, but that's besides the point. Nowadays, I'd see these problems before they become problems. A little bit of experience, a better trained eye and a pinch of patience has served me much better than pricey equipment. Now that I shoot weddings more than model shoots, this has served me well.

If you're starting out in photography, I'd urge you not to get too involved in obsessing over tutorials about lighting and gear - instead focus on posing, colour harmonies and good composition. Learn to look at the whole frame and not just the model. And don't worry about getting that crazy expensive camera - I certainly don't have one!

Next week - I'll deny ever saying any of this and write a piece about strobe lighting :P

Sort:  

Everything you said in this article were not just correct but useful for people into photography. During my training as an actor, a guest instructor came to talk about composure before camera. One of the things he said is that a picture can be bad with many flaw even if you take it with the best camera in the world.
He pointed out almost everything you talked about from posture, to costume to camera angle to spacing and how you place your hand.
For everybody that loves photography please do well to know the basic techniques before being bothered about the indept magic cameras can do.

Useful and helpful topic will help me to take good shots thank you

Lighting is a big factor.

Thanks for the comment :) Huge factor @joeyarnoldvn, of course. Much bigger than one article could cover. I was just hoping to convey a little bit of (what little) I've learned myself over the past years. I spent so much time learning lighting I ignored the other important factors, and my own work suffered because of it.

Yes, and a good eye

Or two good eyes if you're really lucky ;)

Agreed. I love photography and even though I'm not capable of producing a good quality picture, I love to see people's perspective through photography. Some people saw picture taken as a picture, I see it as how the person see through his eyes into the world. It's some form of imagination and we capture that moment before moving into a different angle which will change the view that they are currently seeing.

It'd be amazing if you could tell us WHY those issues are actual issues. I mean, besides the loose threads and the chipped varnish, which are kinda obvious. But yes, everyone is in need of a learning curve, and too soon a whole bunch of us are feeling like we are the next Annie Leibovitz.

That’s a good point @lenin-mccarthy! I’ll do a follow up soon and expand on this. Thanks for the suggestion :)

I feel like I miss details that I should have noticed when I photograph things, but that's my personality in general.

Yep, me too. I don't think you ever get that good that you'll always see everything. At least I hope not, doesn't sound like fun.

I see it more as a perfect photo, but the director is the issue.. Models need direction to pose... jk

Definitely. A good model will know how to pose and how the light works, but the buck stops with the photographer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66