Arapahoe Basin: First Ski Day of the Season!

in #photography6 years ago

I utilized an off day from work the best way I knew how: hit the slopes


Arapahoe Basin has the longest ski season of any resort, typically opening around mid-October and closing as late as the fourth of July! For my 30th birthday, I did a half day at A-Basin and a half day at a water park (my birthday is June 10th). It was the most badass birthday ever, and only possible in the great state of Colorado.


I highly recommend skiing at A-Basin for the views alone. Skiing at the continental divide is an experience unto itself. Although the lifts are slower than other resorts in the area, the terrain is fun and varied.

Sort:  

A-Basin is one of my favorite mountains. it has a real 'locals' feel to it, and not quite as many tourists. I used to leave at 4:30AM to completely beat traffic and then sleep in my car in the parking lot for an hour before the lift lines opened. I love that you can park right at the bottom of the mountain, hop out of your car, and be on a lift in a couple minutes without having to take a shuttle or a gondola to start skiing. I got the Rocky Mountain Super Pass this year after a 2-3 year hiatus (injuries). So....no A-Basing for me this year.

I had the Rocky Mountain super pass last year and it's great. Copper and Winter Park are as good as any of resorts in the Summit County

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11