Metal in the Woods

in #photography7 years ago

I took at hike at the Manasquan Reservoir late this afternoon and, at some point, I decided to veer off the trail and head into the woods.

Here are some of the metallic objects I encountered. I didn't reposition any of these items, they are all as I found them.

Long before the man-made Manasquan Reservoir was constructed in the early 1990s, there were farms and residential houses in this area. Back then, dumping in the woods was just a normal part of rural life.

Follow me @cognoscere












All images @cognoscere and taken on Sunday October 15th, 2017 at the Manasquan Reservoir in Howell, New Jersey (Sony RX100 V)

Sort:  

Awesome old metallic objects image collection. Thank you for sharing @cognoscere. Lot of human not try to getting these photos they are searching natural places and flowers. But you are different styles.
Upvote/ Resteem

Very true...there is beauty in so many varied ways.

Thank you for reminding me of that.

I like stumbling upon the unexpected, and New Jersey has plenty of it!!!

Awesome concept, I love that bridge photo...so inviting, and the nails were to die for too! The leaf in the water...such a great shot, what was that container?

The nails were to die for?

What kind of sadist are you anyway? :)

Wow, the plot thickens.....

One question, do you own an axe?

We may have an axe...why do you ask?

You with an axe in your hand.....

Okay now I am officially scared. :)

Thanks! Those nails were in a huge downed tree. I'm guessing it was a deer stand or maybe a tree house from many years ago.

I love places like these , makes exploring so much better. And also , you have amazing photography skills

It's so much easier in the fall and winter when there's less vegetation.

Thanks for the this post, is very beautiful photography.
@cognoscere
Have a nice day

Variant stylish and variant place you clicked on in Manasquan Reservoir @cognoscere. Looking reasonable awesome.
Upvote and Resteem

Great walk @cognoscere.

I love old metal stuff like that. It is amazing what we can find when we harken off the beaten path. It is wonderful to think of who crafted those and what happened to those people.

Thank you for the journey.

That's one of my favorite aspects of hiking - taking the road less travelled. And it's true, you never know what you're going to find!

Damm that's interesting very unique and loved the detailed in every shots really beautiful :)

Nice how you made junk look like art. Along with nature adding patina.

Thanks, that was my plan. I have lots of @steemit posts that feature the out-of-place items I've found in the woods.

So many things get left behind, don't they? At least, with metal objects, they take on a patina that fits into nature. And they eventually decay. That's a lot better than plastic!

My sentiments exactly!!! I'm the nut that wants to go digging in the junk piles that the woods has been hiding all these years 😱

haha -- I can picture that!

Very appealing and informative post shared followed . @cognoscere Wish you the best with all your future endeavors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43