🗻 Last of the Jersey Glaciers🗻steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

New Jersey's having a little trouble. With the weather that is. Well, it has other troubles, but I won't go down that path today.

It's coming up on the end of March and, although it's now officially Spring, there are still lingering piles of beautifully blackened snow.

And freezing rain (not to be confused with sleet) is forecast for the early morning hours.

The robins are here and flitting about on the ground, with no worms yet to be seen.

I hope you enjoy these filthy-snow shots and after that, I bid them all a fond farewell!

Ari Hest - A Fond Farewell

"A Fond Farewell" - Ari Hest
My mother once told me
The thicker your skin
The better off you'll be when this world brings you down
Well it's trying to control me
And leave me without hope
In the past I've been burned
But I've lived and I've learned

[Chorus]

Beneath the shelter of the pouring rain
In the absence of this fear and pain
I will finally bid my ball and chain
A fond farewell


On the road that leads me to my place
I'm gonna rid my heart of past disgrace
I will finally bid this sluggish pace
A fond farewell, farewell


When I heard their reservations
When I read their bitter words
I shined a light upon their wisdom no matter how absurd
It broke my heard to pieces
And I questioned my own beliefs
My dignity was gone
But it's time to move on

[Chorus]

Say goodbye to feeling sorry for myself
To begging others for far too much help
This is my hand, these are the cards that I've been dealt
Only I can make these changes, nobody else
Say goodbye to those sleepless nights
Those corridors with no end in sight
A driven man with these words I write
I'm making peace with my soul tonight

[Chorus]




















All images (except the first) @cognoscere and taken on 03/21&22/2017 in Central New Jersey. (Sony RX100 V)

  • First image @cognoscere and taken several weeks ago in a suburban neighborhood in the shadow of the National Zoo in Washington, DC.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

hottest year on record.

Yeah, overall it's been a really mild and easy winter here in central NJ, but March won't give up the ghost!!!

A similar issue is in many places. @cognoscere Thanks for the news from New Jersey. See you. :)

That captures the end of winter snow, alright! It's amazing how much rock and grit and mud get into those piles of snow from the parking lots! Maybe you can pick a pile and have a contest for the Big Meltout, lol! Enjoy your Spring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41