Invasion of the Porcelain Berries - Nothing is SafesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

In my previous post entitled The Unloved and Invasive Porcelain Berry, I mentioned that this pretty-to-look-at plant is listed as being an invasive species.

Well, I now fully believe that to be the case. After further hiking, I stumbled upon and observed first-hand the extreme devastation that this plant is capable of.

I mean this stuff COMPLETELY engulfs whatever is in its path. I don't care if it's a 50-foot tree, these porcelain berry vines will make it disappear and starve it of sunlight.

And it's apparently very difficult to get rid of porcelain berries once they take hold.

See the invasion for yourself in the photos below. I've alternated images of the berries, each followed by an image of the invasion.

And remember: friends don't let friends plant porcelain berries!!!


All images @cognoscere and taken at Bayonet Farm.

Sort:  

How can it be that something so pretty could be so vicious?

What a mess! That's an incredible challenge for people managing the land. And what a threat to the native species -- they just get covered up! Wow! : (

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63560.19
ETH 3041.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49