Busy Beavers at the D&R CanalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

On a recent trip to Lambertville, NJ to meet up with some friends for dinner at Liberty Hall Pizza, we saw plenty of tree damage that I believe is being caused by the beavers who reside in and around the Delaware and Raritan Canal.

It's kind of like the rabbits and woodchucks that invade your vegetable garden. You know the deal, they don't just eat an entire zucchini. Oh no, they have to take a little nibble out of each and every dang one of them. I think they do it just to show us who's the boss of the garden.

And so it goes with the beavers. They start gnawing multiple trees at a time, instead of just finishing off one or two. Or, maybe I have it all wrong, and there are dozens of beavers all working in parallel towards a common goal.

I'm no expert, but I find it pretty strange that some of the trees with this alleged beaver damage are pretty freakin' huge. How would they transport a tree like that after cutting it down, or are they expecting it to float into position? Maybe someone who is a Castor canadensis expert will chime in 👍🏽

Either way, they are having their way with the trees that line the D&R Canal. By the way, I didn't see a single beaver, I think they were mocking me 🤔

DISCLAIMER: I have no smoking-gun photos to prove that beavers are the culprits, just my best guess.


Related posts on this trip to Lambertville, New Jersey:

I think this might be one of their dams.

It's a very peaceful tow-path.


All images, except the first, @cognoscere (Canon PowerShot SD1400 IS)
First Image Source

Sort:  

A little later reply - haven't been on Steemit for a few. I love this story and the pictures. Those beavers sure do some damage to the trees. I wondered while reading why beaver's teeth are yellow with all that chomping. hehe...small things amuse... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93