Pacman Nebula (NGC 281)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

1

Pacman Nebula (or NGC 281), is a bright emission nebula in the northern constellation of Cassiopeia and is part of the Milky Way's Perseus Spiral Arm. It is estimated it lies 9200 ly. from us. Colloquially, NGC 281 is also known as the Pacman Nebula for its resemblance to the video game character. E. E. Barnard discovered this nebula in August 1883, who described it as "a large faint nebula, very diffuse." (dixit Wikipedia)

To take this photo i used the following setup:
Scope: Skywatcher Newton 200/1000
Mount: EQ6
Camera: Atik One 6.0

The total exposure is around 12 hours in September 2015. As my camera is black & white i use Hubble color palette by stacking and mapping to RGB a combination of:
14 photos of 20 min flitering around Ha ray of Hydrogen
9 photos of 20 min filtering around OIII ray of Oxygen
12 photos of 20 min filtering around SII ray of Sulfur

Technical detail of the photo here: https://www.astrobin.com/210073/

If you want more information, ask me in comment !

I hope you enjoyed it! If it is the case, resteem and follow me to see more astrophotography.

Sort:  

This is beautiful and with full technical data. Follow you @clodoweg, and waiting for your (inter)stellar material 😊

Thanks lot!!! I will follow you too.

You have absolutly fabulous and unique material @clodoweg. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS. Welcome and looking forward to your contributions.

Thanks a alot! I will follow you too:)

Amazing! It's crazy to me that you can capture that. I'm using images from the Hubble in my work right now, I'm in awe. 100% following.

Thanks lot! But of course Hubble make better pictures:)

Maybe hubble takes much more detailed pics you can zoom in on, but from where I am sitting, youre like some wizzard who transcends space and time and captures the light of far away galaxies.

Thanks you friend :) I'm trying to do my best

That is stunning. Followed, resteemed, and upvoted good sir. Please keep these gems coming.

Thanks lot. Next will come:)

Very nice. I take it you have a tracking telescope?

"Mok-mok-mok-mok-mok"

Yes i used an EQ6 mount for this photo

Wow! Very nice to see the technical specs

Thanks lot! Keep posted :)

It's a beautiful pic!! Well done!! Upvoted!! :)

Thanks lot!

Great work, compliments !

Cool nebula, followed you for more astrophotography!

Thanks you ! I will try to post my pictures every day:)

How incredible it would be if we found that this cloudy image is of something much closer to us. Say 2000 miles away. Wouldn't that be something!

Yes, i would be great to see it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66