North America Nebula (NGC 7000) in true color

in #photography7 years ago

1

This is the true color version of the North America Nebula (NGC 7000) i posted 2 days ago. You can get information on this celestial object in my previous post: https://steemit.com/photography/@clodoweg/north-america-nebula-ngc-7000-with-hubble-palette

To take this photo i used the following setup:
Scope: TSOptics 80/350
Mount: AZEQ6
Camera: Atik One 6.0

The total exposure is around 2 hours in july 2016. As my camera is black & white i use RGB filters to build the chrominance layer, and stack several photo on each filter to maximize signal over noise.

13 photos of 5 min flitering Luminance except UV
4 photos of 5 min filtering Red
4 photos of 5 min filtering Blue
4 photos of 5 min filtering Green

I used the software Prism 10 to manage the capture, the pre-treatment (Removing offset, dark and flat). The stacking and the post-treatment was done with Pixinsight and at the end Photoshop.

Technical detail of the photo here: http://www.astrobin.com/255845/

If you want more information, ask me in comment !

I hope you enjoyed it! If it is the case, resteem and follow me to see more astrophotography.

Sort:  

Amazing!

Thanks !

I think most people don't realize how lucky we are to be a part of this as a community. Things of this magnitude are usually only available to the elite. If the power of the community could be harnessed the growth could be exponential.

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and vote me too

Thanks for your nice comment ! I will follow you too and have a deep look at your page.

Awesome dude! Can I ask; how much did your kit cost? I'm just wondering how much you have to invest to get pictures this stunning.

Also how did you learn about this; was it just via the web or simply trial and error?

Last question; I'm assuming you live somewhere with very little light pollution? Or doesn't it matter so much when doing this type of astrophotography?

Thanks
Cg

you can start taking this kind of photo with classique camera and just add a mount around 1000 EUR.
on my side i have around 8000 EUR stuff (mount, scope, cameras, filters, etc...)

i've learned on forums first and then meet some friends.

i live in town, but the stuff help :)

Wow, that's really inspiring; what advice can you give me on getting a starter telescope? I really want to get my 6 year old daughter into this, and myself of course :-)

Cg

You can try with Skywatcher brand

Cool, thanks for the info :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99