Blood Moon

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

1

The lunar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes directly behind the Earth into its umbra (shadow). This can occur only when the sun, Earth, and moon are aligned exactly, or very closely so, with the Earth in the middle. Hence, a lunar eclipse can occur only the night of a full moon.

The total lunar eclipse has the direct sunlight completely blocked by the earth's shadow. The only light seen is refracted through the earth's shadow. This light looks red for the same reason that the sunset looks red, due to rayleigh scattering of the more blue light. Because of its reddish color, a total lunar eclipse is sometimes called a blood moon. (dixit Wikipedia)

2

This photohas been taken with my scope (Newtonian 200/1000), my old mount (EQ6), and a Sony A7R during the total moon eclipse of September 2015

Technical details of the photo: http://www.astrobin.com/215865

I hope you enjoyed it! If it is the case, resteem and follow me to see more astrophotography

Sort:  

Great photograph! Thanks for sharing. One of my most enjoyable lunar eclipse experiences was watching one over the St Lawrence River from my apartment building in Montreal around 11 pm while talking on the phone (that's how we did it back then 😎) with a friend in South Africa, for whom it was around 5 am, and us realising we were watching the same phenomenon at the same time. The sense of connectedness was so strong!

Thanks lot! We are all different but all live on the same planet:)

Nice photos and information. Upvoted check my page too.

I will do it! Thanks!

Nice pictures, following you now :)

Thanks lot !

Beautiful photograph!

Thanks lot!

I like your photos! :) feel free to check my posts.

Hi there
I just upvoted you
If you like me then make sure
to Follow me and upvote my posts

Thanks

Thanks ! I will check your page:)

thanks a lot

The background information you have provided makes the blood moon images even more interesting. Blood moon has had many mythical interpretations attached to it. Perhaps some reference to them would make this post even more interesting!

Upvoted and following you.

Am more into wildlife and nature photography as well as travel. If you want to see some of my work, you are welcome to visit my blogs.

Thanks lot for the tip ! I will check your pages and follow you. See you soon!

You mean these things exist outside of zelda breath of the wild?? :) thanks for sharing.

As always incredible dude :) for some reason(not sure why) I particularly liked this one, resteemed :)

Thanks friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51