Travel – India 2005 #2 – Retro Analogous Photography Post – Me And My Camera || No Filters, No Photoshop, No High-End Quality – But UNIQUE!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians!

Today follows the second part about my old analog traveling photos. I photographed them when I was travelling through India (later Nepal and China too) with two other friends. I got a total of 792 analog pictures, because I took 22 analog films along. Yes! 22 films.

I didn’t do any changes except I resized a few, but not that much. I didn’t used any filters or used effects. I even didn’t retouching scratches or fuzz. I would like to show you how they look in reality.

I remember I was quite excited, because it was my first travel that far away and the first time I take a plane alone. I flight before once, but at this time I was three years old and I can’t remember anything. One of my best friends studied for one semester in India at this time. Shortly after his semester one other friend and I visited him.

Date: 02/19/2005

I should say, that I am scared of flying. Especially on my first flight. My stomach ached a lot, my knees were shaking and in the night before I couldn’t sleep well. To sit in the plane (in this flying cylinder) and to know you don’t have any control of your situation was horrible. I sweated a lot, I got dizzy and grabbed into my armrest.

My first flight went from Hamburg (Germany) to Amsterdam (Netherland) and needed maybe one hour. Only one hour…but it felt like five or six. After I reached the gate for the next flight to Delhi, I wasn’t sure, if I will survive that. Around 10 more hours. I tried to stop to thinking. Picked my sketchbook and started to draw.

India_0042_Ebene 5.jpg

Suddenly there was one young guy. His name was David. Maybe two or three years older than me. He sat down next to me and asked: “Where are you from?” I said: “Northern part of Germany”. He nodded and looked out of the big window, where our plane got checked by the staff. He looked at me again and asked: “Are you scared of flying?” I just agreed. I don’t know why, but I think he was able see it.

I wasn’t in that mood to talk and my English was really bad. I was too shy for talking. He asked me: “What is your plan in India?” I replied “I want to visit a friend”. I got the feeling he tried to distract me by starting to tell me why he is going to India. He is going to visit the Dalai Lama. He got an audience. After that he want to travel though India. He stopped talking and asked, if he may see my sketchbook. I gave it to him. He was really calmed. He talked slow and thoughtful. It gave me a bit peace inside me.

India_0043_Ebene 4.jpg

I was surprised, that someone can just ask for an audience at the Dalai Lama. How cool is that? I think he did a good work, because I was thinking about that for a while. How will that be? Are there a lot of people in the same room with him? Are they sitting at a table or on the ground? How is it to walk in and see the Dalai Lama sitting there? Do you feel his wisdom? Is it quiet or noisy?

India_0046_Ebene 1.jpg

Night shot without tripod.

While I was thinking about that, David asked me, if he may paint something inside my sketchbook? I was so busy thinking about the Dalai Lama and only nodded to him. I was still thinking about the audience so much that I didn’t see what he was doodling. After maybe ten minutes he gave my book back and said, this is a Lotus. The national flower of India. I got a bit scared, because he wrote “Death is absolutely safe”.

IMG_20180611_120347.jpg

The sketch by David. I hope we see us again. Best wishes.


Stay tuned! To be continued.





Equipment:


Nikon F55
28 ~ 100 mm
f/3.5 ~ 1/5.6 G



Thanks for reading!




If you like my work check out my blog @chromasie. I am new here, so I don't have so many posts yet. But when you read this, I probably work on my next post.




I don't only model 3D stuff. I also like to paint, photography, photogrammetry, traveling etc. Stay tuned!




You can find me on:




Skecthfab_black64.png | Instagram_black64.png | Twitter_black64.png | YT_black64.png



I took all the pictures. I made all the 3D stuff and tutorials by myself. All pictures, tutorials and films belongs to me. Copyright 2018 Chromasie. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or publish them.



Sort:  

lovely picture and story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66146.36
ETH 3281.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70