More Riverwalkin' in SATX

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Creatures of downtown SATX. Playing with B&W a bit.

Steem Photos 2-20.jpg

Steem Photos 2-9.jpg

Steem Photos 2-19.jpg

Steem Photos 2-7.jpg

Steem Photos 2-6.jpg

Street photography is sort of scary and super personal. I'm trying to get over this fear I have of people kicking my ass if they see me taking pictures of them. Any and all feedback welcome!

-Chrissy

Sort:  

Don't worry, nobody will see you – they all look into their smartphones 😊 You did well deserved a support. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS…

Fair point about the phones. My camera just makes this mega loud shutter sound, so I'm always waiting for someone to look up and yell at me about their privacy. & Wow, thanks so much! I really appreciate the support!

hmm What is missing, i think, is where you want us to look. I don't see what you want to show.

Do you feel that way about all of them or one in particular? I try to use the rule of thirds with my composition as much as possible, but also lead the viewer as well. I guess I don't have a specific goal for what I want to show I just want to give a little window into these peoples' days.

I would say more the last one than the other. The first one was great for instance.

Gotcha. Okay, noted! I'll take that into account next time I go out!

Beautiful images! The one with the guy jumping into the boat, in particular, is very well composed and your timing was perfect!

Are you, by chance, using a Fuji camera? I ask, because they're amazing for street photography and the monochrome film simulation is incredible.

As for street photography advice, I've done a limited bit and find that it boils down to how you interact with your subject. If they see you take the shot, sometimes a smile is enough to get away with it! Also, having a less intrusive camera helps. Pointing a dslr with a massive lens at someone in the street is likely to unsettle them, where's a small mirrorless or mobile phone is less intrusive.

Good luck, and great images. I look forward to seeing more!

Interesting, I didn't know that about Fuji -no I'm using a Sony a5000. Not much but it gets the job done mostly. It's a mirrorless but has this awful fake shutter sound that I can't seem to figure out how to turn off! Haha Anyways, thanks for the feedback I really do appreciate it!

I was under the impression that one could only post pictures of people onto a public medium IF you have their consent; otherwise the picture needs to be taken in such a way that the individuals cannot be recognized. Does this not infringe on their privacy? What if they don't want their photograph splashed all over the world? Can they not sue you for damages? Please advise, because I have always been afraid to do this sort of thing.

Ooh.. man I don't know. I've considered this with children so I tend not to post children's pictures at all. But I really have no idea. I'll have to look into that. I imagine there's very little chance that actually happens, but definitelyl important to consider. Thanks for bringing that to my attention!

I started building websites many years ago and at that time I did some research into what can and cannot be done as far as using my own images and at that time it was quite clear to me that I could not use any photo's that could trace anyone to a certain location unless their consent was explicitly obtained (and best recorded). Even if the location could not be identified, you still could not use a photo where an individual could be identified without consent. If that has since been changed, I don't know, however to be safe, I tend to avoid it .
If it keeps you out of trouble, I 'm glad to help.

Interesting.. I'll try to keep that in mind. Although I'm quite sure that if you're on the street -a public place I should be good? Thanks for the input though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64316.24
ETH 2748.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65