Craft Beer & Cute Dogs

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This isn't a misdirect, this post is 100% Texas made craft beer and cute ass dogs.

DSC07204.jpg

I was supposed to be at the day job yesterday. I showed up, there was a mistake in the schedule and the boss told me I could go home! HOORAY! I typically might've been upset I lost the hours but it was too beautiful out to be upset about anything. So I hit the pavement.

After about 2 seconds of walking around the streets looking for a photo op, I gave up. Or adjusted I suppose...It was the middle of the afternoon, that means terrible lighting and the temperature was around 95 F (35 C). Tapped out.

The only solution?

Cold beer. (Obviously)

I made my way up to the Pearl Brewery district (Which I've posted about before and walked into Southerleigh Fine Food & Brewing.

DSC06312.jpg

DSC06323.jpg

DSC06328.jpg

Apologies for the less than perfect quality on some of these, I was focused on getting to the beer.

Here's a nice one.

southerleigh 1.jpg

And that I did. Southerleigh is not my typical choice for an afternoon.. This place is a little more...fancy than I would normally choose. Let's just say that every single person in that bar had designer shoes on. And that's fine with me! Me in my yoga pants and t-shirt, sweaty hair and camera have no discrimination when it comes to bars with good beer.

Everything at Southerleigh is brewed right on site in the old Pearl Brewery -you remember Pearl beer?

)

Probably not.

Anyways, it's changed quite a bit in the last few years. From a beat up, abandoned old brewery to one of the top spots to see in the city.

Definitely check them out if you're coming through San Antonio. Great beer!

Speaking of beer...

Let's get to it.

First in the flight was....

Don't Fear The Dank.
68 IBU
7% ABV

DSC07204.jpg

Surprisingly smooth, though there was a hoppy bite tied on. Great aroma, this is probably where I found that 68 IBU most.

Next up was...

Darwinian IPA
69 IBU
6.8% ABV

Now, I'd had this one before but not for a while so it was interesting to see how it had differed from what I remembered. I didn't snap a pic of this one either because again, focused on my beer. Sorry! Here's a picture of an angry dog instead.
DSC07200.jpg

Nice amber coloring. Really distinctive scene. A bit heavier, not nearly as smooth as Dank but certainly more flavorful. Just like I remember.



2 Down...

S.A.B.A Copper Alt
32 IBU
5.9 ABV

DSC07216.jpg

I immediately thought this was going to be a bit of a maltier beer after seeing that IBU count & coloring. This was a really full flavor, rounder if that makes sense? It sort of sticks around in your mouth for a while. Really solid drink, probably my favorite in the flight



Last but certainly not least...

Hip-Hop-Opatamus Pils
40 IBU
6.46 ABV

DSC07223.jpg
Oddly specific ABV was the first thing I noticed. Sharply contrasted color to the others in the flight as well (duh, it's a pils). I could see that THIS was the beer I was meant to START the flight with. Oops. Floral and light, really smooth drink.


Any afternoon I can spend in front of a flight instead of a computer is a good afternoon in my book. I've been spending so much time on Steemit/Freelancing/At Work that I hadn't really stopped and just relaxed in the sunshine with a brew in quite some time. It was an afternoon very, very well spent.

Oh. I promised you pupper pics.

Here ya go!

DSC07241.jpg

DSC07244.jpg

DSC06205.jpg

What are y'all drinking? Anyone ever been to Southerleigh?

-Chrissy


Source 1
Source 2

Sort:  

Drinking a beer while reading your post is a nice ''coincidence'' although mine is just a random cheap one from the supermarket :) those sounds delicious!

Haha hey the best beer is the one in your hand, right?....sorta Enjoy the brew! Stay safe out there!

I like your mentally! Thank you very much!
Good vibes! , :)

If it is Texas style its gotta be good.

Damn! you got wasted on your day off! Great times! I love how you put everything! I recommend starting from lower alcohol first if you are tasting. Ping me in the future. I get lost in the sea of posts!

Same here! And not wasted! haha these weren't pints, just little guys
And yea it was meant to be drank from the lighter beer first I just misdrank. All still great though!

I'm not much of a beer drinker, but man these pictures make me want to sit back on a front porch (which I don't have haha) and throw a few back. And can we talk about how adorable that last puppy picture is. I can feel his happiness.

6 month old pup, he was VERY excited haha

@chrissymchavez, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Never been. Looks great! Cute photos!

Try it out sometime! Thanks for the feedback :)

Congratulations @chrissymchavez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This reminds me of the good old times... Today, 4 beers would give me a hangover, haha! That was a very interesting to read post, Chrissy :) Do you like strong beer?

Haha yeah generally i like a darker porter/stout. And this wasn't 4 pints, it was just little guys so not too serious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76