Photography - Iraq 2003steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Evidently I am unable to post photos without a backstory.

One bright sunny day in February of 2003, I remember getting a call from my unit. "Good afternoon Corporal. It is my duty to inform you that your unit is being mobilized in support of Noble Eagle/Enduring Freedom..." The rest of the day is a blur. Hell the rest of the month was blur. We deployed to Iraq shortly after being mobilized, and I found myself in the middle of Iraq fighting a war. But not the war you see in the movies or in the documentaries or read about in books. The war I was experiencing was nothing like I was expecting. We were rock stars. When we came to a new town, people would line the streets and cheer. This was not what I was expecting at all. Locals wanted to shake our hands, they wanted to get their photo taken with us. The entire experience was surreal, but we made it home. All of us.

To my Marine brothers and sisters and the Navy Corpsmen who take care of us, Semper Fidelus.

Al Kut 061.jpg
Photo by me. Merchant and his son. Al Kut, Iraq
As Suwayrah 006.jpg
Photo by me. This family prepared a meal for us when we arrived in their town.
As Suwayrah 025.jpg
Photo by me. A patrol through Suwayrah, Iraq
Al Kut 062.jpg
Photo by me. Market in Kut, Iraq

Thanks for taking the time to read a little bit about me.

-Chris

Sort:  

I'll blame the bad quality of some of the photos on being in a war zone and lack of experience. Hope you all enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51