Stargazing in Sydney Australia

in #photography7 years ago

The night is cold, skies are crystal clear and I had just finished my exams. During the long, train ride home, I peer out to the night sky from the window. Wondering how I should use my time wisely during the long break. Most likely sleeping and eating on repeat I thought to myself. Then. Something in me clicked. Looking at the skies had reminded me of a post I read in a forum, I read a while back when I 'attempted' to get into night photography.

It listed an isolated spot, perfect for shooting the milky way without any light pollution. I check on google maps and it was less than an hours drive down South of Sydney. Pumped and seeking to let off some 'Steem' om my exams, I knew I was going to go tonight

During the drive I started getting a bit anxious. I have never driving this far by myself at night. The sight of Civilization, buildings and light lessened the further I drove. I began to wonder if the spot was even legit and if could trust a complete stranger online who could have baited me into something alot worse. But I couldn't be more wrong. It was one of the best decisions I've made to come here.

My take of the milky way (editied)milkyway1.jpg

Some incidents happened during the shoot but I think I will just keep this post a short one.

A view of the area I took the shot in. It's made right on the edge of the cliff which was one of the highest point and was conveniently looking out into the great ocean.
IMG_2449.JPG

The night I was there alone was indescribable. The full moon was out and it lit up the whole ocean and being that high up for some reason made the ocean and waves look colossal. I have never seen something so pretty. I tried taking snaps of the view but the dslr did not do it justice (I'm still and amateur photographer)

I decided to bring a friend a long on another night and started experimenting with a mag-lite torch

IMG_2454.JPG

A view of the milky way on a different night.
milkyway3.jpg

Some freak incidents occurred during some of these shoots, but i'll leave that for next time. I apologize if this seemed a bit rushed. If anyone wants information on the camera settings or the area I took photos in please comment!

I used a Canon 700D and 17-50mm Tamron for these shots.

This is my first post and I hope you enjoy :)

Sort:  

Wow! These are amazing! Technology is insane these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59311.47
ETH 2603.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40