Adventures in the USA || Chapter 1

Welcome Steemers!

Detroit, MI - St. Louis, Mo - Oklahoma City, OK - Amarillo, TX

It all began in March, my friend Cody wanted to move out to Portland, OR and I wanted to visit some new cities along the way. We packed up his car and hit the road from Detroit to St. Louis. It was mostly a straight shot there except for the only roadside attraction we could find...

The World's Largest Covered Wagon!!! (It gets cooler, I swear!)

Alt Text

Now I know it isn't the most exciting thing in the world but neither was driving through the farm lands of Illinois (the trip gets a lot more interesting, i promise). We stayed on the outskirts of St. Louis and after our first 8 hour stretch we were ready to hit the hay.

Meramec Caverns in Stanton, Missouri

Alt Text

The next morning Cody and I went to explore the Meramec Caverns, a legendary place where the infamous Jesse James Gang used as their hideout. In the middle of the caverns tour you reach the deepest point in the caves and they shut off the lights. I have never known darkness like that. I put my hand in front of my face and still could not see a thing, very freaky!

Alt Text

(Sorry for the quality, I took it with my phone)

The end of the tour really caught my surprise though. There was a 70 foot rock face where they put on a light show and play a video on it to the tune of God Bless America with what looks like an Exxon Mobile Commercial. Missouri is the most patriotic place I have ever been.

Alt Text

At the end of our spelunking trip through Missouri, Cody and I pushed on to Oklahoma City. This is one place I never thought I would visit but it was a perfect 8 hours from St. Louis and we needed to rest. As luck would have it, there was a hotel right next to a Punk Bar and Bowling Alley and on Tuesdays (which it was a Tuesday) they have live punk bands play.

The Drunken Fry, Oklahoma City, OK

The first band (that's the video above) just cracked me up with songs about Battlestar Galactica and being old. At one point they all took their shirts off and things started to get weird but I highly recommend spending a Tuesday Night In Oklahoma City at the Drunken Fry!

Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial in Oklahoma City, OK

Alt Text

The next morning we set out to the site where Timothy Mcveigh bombed the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building on April 19, 1995. The site of 168 deaths and over 680+ injured. I have never visited a place quite like this before. There is something in the air there that looms over the memorial, constant military, police and security guards everywhere you look and that weeping statue really brought down that beautiful day , at least until we got back on the road.

The Big Texan Steak Ranch, HOME OF THE 72oz STEAK! Amarillo, TX.

Alt Text

In 2 1/2 days we have gone from Detroit, MI to Amarillo, TX. We have covered a lot of ground and it was time to pig out. I first learned about the Big Texan on the Food Network. Having been a chef most of my life, I loved watching all the different shows on that channel, but one was probably my favorite....

MAN VS. FOOD

Alt Text

(photo from the internet)

I am not the powerhouse eater Adam Richman is but I did enjoy some steak, potatoes and their specially brewed beer. The Big Texan is by far one of the biggest tourist traps I have ever been to in my life but I am happy I went. They have interesting art, shooting gallery and some of the finest steak and milk Texas has to offer.

Alt Text

Coming up in Chapter 2...

Roswell, New Mexico - White Sands, New Mexico - Jacumba Hot Springs, CA - San Diego, CA

Alt Text

Please comment on any thoughts or anything and lets start chatting! Thanks!
Sort:  

great pics)

Thanks!

72 oz is a lot of steak! Whoever eats that probably gets pretty clogged. Woowee

hahaha deffinitly does!

Woowee is right. Not just the person who eats that is getting clogged. Simply astounding post there Chimerageddon!

I am Cornholio! (Whoa! Hm heh... that was cool) I need T.P. for my bunghole! Come out with your pants down!

Cool adventure. Thanks for sharing!!

Congratulations @chimeraggeddon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @chimeraggeddon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Chimeraggeddon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @chimeraggeddon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49