Hawaii: Oahu And Honolulu my most beautiful visit I did in my life.

in #photography6 years ago

We all dream of sunbathing under the tropical sun in Hawaii, surfing the big waves, discovering a surprising nature and marveling at a culture that is unknown to us. More than a year ago, I was lucky enough to realize this dream and visit Hawaii.

I decided to go to the island of Oahu for a first trip and a first contact with this archipelago that offers so much natural and cultural wealth. I landed in Honolulu and spent my time exploring Oahu from the north coast, the famous North Shore to the south coast, and then from the Windward coast to the east to the Leeward coast to the west.

I am writing this article to share with you my unforgettable experience in Hawaii and share with you all the great deals and places not to be missed during your stay. Here is a list of 12 must-see experiences in Oahu, Hawaii.
Dolce Far niente on a heavenly beach
Nothing better than to start your holidays with a relaxing moment on the beaches of fine sand and coconut trees. On the island of Oahu, there are a multitude of quiet beaches with few waves for those who want to be away from water activities, surfers and tourists.

One of my best memories of a trip to Hawaii was a relaxing day on Lanikai Beach (one of the world's most beautiful beaches) on the Windward Coast, east of Oahu Island. The water is turquoise, the white sand, there are coconut trees everywhere. You can see small islets just a few kilometers. To access it, you have to go through a small path a little remote. The advantage of Lanikai is that there are few tourists.

My suggestions:
North Shore (North): Haleiwa Beach, Wameia Bay, Sunset Beach,
Widward Coast (East): Lanikai Beach, Wakapuu Beach, Waimanalo Beach, Kailua Beach, Kualoa Regional Park.
South Shore (South): Waikiki Beach, Hanauma Bay, Sandy Beach, Ala Moana Beach Park / Magic Island
Leeward Coast (West): Makua Beach, Yokohama Bay, Electric Beach

Hawaii-oahu-tortues-770x578.jpg

2 Surf the mythical waves of Hawaii
Hawaii is the cradle of surfing and for locals, surfing is the national sport. Follow in Duke's footsteps and surf the legendary Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, where the famous North Shore (North Shore) waves are the dream of any self-respecting surfer. Hawaii is focused on surfing. The cafe doors are shaped like surfboards, Duke statues are found all over the island of Oahu and the "loose hang" is a philosophy adopted by locals. If you do not know how to surf, here is a golden opportunity to learn. You will be supported by surf enthusiasts who will transmit their knowledge and love for this wonderful aquatic sport.

My suggestions:
North Shore Surfing: Haleiwa Beach, Lania Beach, Ehukai Beach Park, Sunset Beach
Surf in Waikiki (filled with tourists but it's still an iconic beach for surfing)
Be very careful with coral
Watch the impressive surfers at the Banzai Pipe Line (Ehukai Beach Park, North Shore, Oahu)
surf-.jpg
3 Swim with sea turtles
After two days spent in Hawaii enjoying the beach and dulce lazing around, I decided to do a little cultural tour and go to Kukaniloko to see the sacred volcanic rock. On the way back to Waikiki, I stopped by chance on a deserted beach on the south coast to cool off. I was washing my face when I saw a creature move one meter away from my foot.

It was a magical moment. The turtle was swimming at my feet, then rising to the surface, going down again, going out to sea, coming back to me. The show was amazing, it was as if she understood that I was fascinated by her and tried to seduce me, I like.

Since that day, I have spent at least an hour during my days in Oahu swimming with and watching sea turtles. They appear everywhere on the beaches of the island, even in the most tourist places. But remember, do not touch those little creatures and let them go their way in peace.

My suggestions:
Laniakea Beach north of the island
Hanauma Bay south of the island
Makua Beach west of the island
Electric Beach west of the island
Wameia Bay north of the island
Waikiki Beach south of the island
Cockroach Cove south of the island

4 Hiking in a nature reserve
Hawaii is full of nature reserves and national parks with a rich and diverse fauna and flora. One of my favorite activities during my stay in Hawaii was hiking in the many nature reserves in Oahu.

I particularly enjoyed the Diamond Head hike, a crater overlooking the entire Honolulu capital and offering spectacular views of the turquoise beaches.
Discover the local gastronomy
Hawaiian cuisine is really rich and diverse. We find in the local cuisine the influences of all peoples who have colonized this archipelago in the past: Japanese sushi local version, Chinese chow mein, not to mention the good old American burger ... etc.

Thus, on the basis of all these influences has developed a rich and tasty regional cuisine. Hawaiian dishes are often sweet and salty, combining tropical fruits and vegetables such as passion fruit, macadamia nuts ... etc. Hawaiians also eat a lot of fish, often raw. I loved to taste this gastronomy that was until then really unknown. However, I must admit that eating in Hawaii can be very expensive.

My suggestions:
Poke ahi (to be tested at Duke Restaurant in Waikiki)
Mahi-Mahi Hawaiian way
Laulau to eat in food trucks
Plantain bananas to eat in small local restaurants
Puree of Taro to eat in small local restaurants
Purple sweet potato to eat in small local restaurants.
Shaved Ice (at the famous Matsumoto shaved ice)
Hawaiian cookies in the shape of pineapple (Honolulu Cookie Company)
shaved-ice-hawaii-.jpg
6 Visit the Pearl Harbor Historic Site
Located in a bay where Hawaiians once fished clams and oysters (hence the name "Pearl", pearl), this symbolic and historic site of the Second World War is still an American military base today. I was really impressed and moved by the memorials and some relics including the wreck of the warship "Arizona" and the historic USS Missouri.

Also, the fact that it is still an active military base full of working American soldiers wearing their uniforms really transported me to the time of the Second World War and gave me the impression to have attended for a few seconds of reverie. I highly recommend it!

My suggestions:
Allow at least half a day of visit.
Visit the officers quarters.
Take a tour of the captain aboard the historic USS Missouri boat. It lasts 90 minutes and costs 50 € for adults, 22 € for children.

7 Attend a Hula show
The first experience I had on arriving in Hawaii was a Hula show at Waikiki Beach. I had landed in Honolulu just a few hours ago and decided to take a stroll to Waikiki on the famous Kalakaua Avenue. It was 7pm, the sun was setting and I was attracted by the sound of a very lively Polynesian music. It was a Hawaiian traditional dance show, the Hula. He was sitting on Waikiki Beach and was free. The dream, no?

I really loved listening to traditional music and watching dances with high-level acrobatics. The advantage is that the show is free and takes place in a strategic location and very easy access for tourists. To attend, simply head to the Duke Statue on Kalakaua Avenue at Waikiki Beach on Tuesdays, Thursday and Saturday at sunset.

My suggestions:
Free Hula show in Waikiki, take place every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at sunset.
Horizons show played at the Polynesian Cultural Center.

spectacle-de-hula-hawaii-.jpg
8 Visit the largest pineapple plantation in the world
Did you know that the Hawaiian Archipelago provides over 50% of the world's pineapple production? Some islands are just pineapple fields. During my stay in Hawaii I decided to visit the largest pineapple plantation in the world and it is without regret.

It was a very enriching experience that allowed me to know better the different varieties and the ways of growing pineapple. I had a lot of fun in the biggest labyrinth of the world, planted on 4kilometers and having more than 14.000 different plants. I highly recommend adding pineapple plantations to your list.

My suggestions:
The Dole plantation, registered in the Guinness World Record in 2008 as the largest pineapple plantation in the world.
Do not miss the labyrinth, the entrance costs 6euros (8dollars) and is really worth it.
Enjoy pineapple on the spot.
Take the "Aloha Express" train for a stroll
Enjoy the pineapple ice cream that will refresh you well after a good walk in the fields.
pineapple-hawaii-oahu-1-1 (1).jpg
Jumping from a cliff in Wameia Bay
A little adventure has never hurt anyone! Once in Hawaii I started to talk with locals and ask them for advice on do's and don'ts on the island. They gave me a list of exciting things to do and amazing places to discover. They also told me about a very popular activity near the young Hawaiians, the cliff jump at Wameia Bay, north of the island (North Shore).

To say that I have a small tendency to acrophobia and I have a great fear of emptiness would be a euphemism. However, I have always pushed myself to surpass myself and overcome it by doing activities that involve finding myself in height and jumping into the "void". When my Hawaiian friends told me about the cliff jump at Wameia Bay I was immediately ready to go. On the other hand once arrived at the top of the cliff it was quite another history. After climbing the big rock to reach the summit, I found myself facing one of my biggest fear.

I had two options, jump, or jump! Going back down the rock that I had just climbed was impossible. After more than 15 minutes of hesitation I finally started. It was a great experience that allowed me to take a step forward in my fight against the fear of emptiness. I felt a sense of freedom and ecstasy during the jump that motivated me to repeat the experience a second time.

My suggestions:
Have a bottle of water and a snack.
Protect yourself from the sun
Jump the feet together to avoid large hematomas.

10 Go to the discovery of marine wonders
Whether scuba diving, snorkeling or snorkeling, dive in Hawaii! The seabed is absolutely dazzling! There are coral reefs in the sea floor.

One of my favorite spots for snorkeling in Oahu is Hanauma Bay. It is home to the largest coral reef on the island and is full of colorful fish, sea turtles ... etc.

There are kiosks everywhere to rent flippers, masks and snorkels, however I personally prefer to have mine. You can also scuba dive or for the more adventurous of the cage diving to "swim with sharks. If you have your PADI or SSI certification, several companies offer different options for dives all around the island with certified instructors to accompany you in your wonderful adventure.

My suggestions:
Snorkel at: Hanauma Bay, Kuilima Cove, Sharks Cove, Carefree Beach, Electric Beach, Makua Beach.
Diving in a cage with sharks
Scuba dive at Wreck of the Mahi, Kahuna Canyon, Kapiolani Park Beach.

11 Admire a beautiful sunset at the beach
Taking the time to breathe and admire the beauty of a sunset is always a good idea. In Hawaii, sunsets offer a bewildering color show. The sky is transformed into a canvas combining pink, blue and yellow leaving us amazed by so much beauty.

During my stay on the island of Oahu, I took pleasure in watching the sunset every night. It was my special moment or I let my thoughts wander. No matter where I was on the island, when my watch was showing at 18:30, I stopped all activity to admire the magnificence and romanticism of the sunset.

My recommendations:
Haleiwa Beach, for me, the most beautiful sunset in Oahu.
Kakaako Park on the seafront.
Waikiki Beach, a subtle blend of skyscrapers and the beach.
The view point throughout North Shore (the North Shore)

12 Take a car ride and get lost in the island
The best way to discover the big island of Oahu is to drive it by car. During my stay in Hawaii, I decided to rent a car for a few days to allow me to access all the remote areas of the island and have some freedom in my travels.

Honolulu is very well served by public transport, unfortunately once out of the capital, it is very hard to move from one corner to another on the island of Oahu. It was out of the question for me to miss the beautiful beaches of the north coast, the east coast and the west coast and limit myself to visit Honolulu, Waikiki and the surrounding area. Renting a car was the best decision I could make during this trip.

It allowed me to discover hidden places on the island that I could never have visited by bus. It also allowed me to move at my own pace and not worry about the watch and the time passing. I loved driving all along North Shore and watching the marly bays of volcanic rocks and the turquoise water that makes you want to dive. I highly recommend strongly to rent a car for at least a day during your stay in Oahu to discover the best places on the island.

I hope you enjoyed knowing more about Hawaii. Feel free to write me a little comment sharing your experience in Oahu or giving me suggestions to complete this list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49