Murals of DetroitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

One of the things I find myself photographing on a weekly basis are the murals I see around the city. Detroit has many dilapidated or abandoned buildings, but there are also many that have been repurposed as a canvas. I love this idea as it turns something that could be considered an eyesore into a work of art, adding life and beauty to a space.

One area in Detroit that has some awesome murals is Eastern Market. They have held Murals in the Market festivals where they invite local artists, as well as artists from around the world, to paint murals in the area. Here are some of my favorites from my last walk in that area:

IMG_0332.JPG.jpg
Red String of Fate by Hueman

IMG_0336.JPG.jpg
By Jeremiah Britton

IMG_0339.JPG.jpg

This one blends in well with the old Devonshire Manufacturing Company signage.
IMG_0311.JPG.jpg
By Miss Van

This one is my favorite. I love how it flows through the different buildings.
IMG_0313.JPG.jpg

Depending on which direction you're walking from, you see this and then realize it connects with another part.

IMG_0314.JPG.jpg

IMG_0316.JPG.jpg

And then you see the larger picture.

IMG_0335.JPG.jpg
Mural by Monica Canilao, Pat Perry, Ben Wold, Nick Mann, and Ouizi

I hope you've enjoyed seeing a glimpse of the murals that can be found in Detroit! Please let me know if you'd like to see more :)

Sort:  

Love it. I'll show you some of my older Detroit mural pics sometime!

Thanks, and that'd be great! Post those pics on to Steemit ;)

Upvoted, Followed and Resteemed. Im orginally from Detroit 😎

Thanks @alao! Always great meeting someone from Detroit. Following you back :)

Nice job, @chernern! It's been a minute since I visited Eastern Market haha

Thanks! Saturday morning in the summer is the best time to go. It's quite happening and there's lots of good food. We can go together next time!

For sure, I'd be very interested to take some pictures of the murals too :)

Yes!! I love seeing different cities art. I just posted some murals of my hometown in Portland, OR. Please check them out! <3 Following.

Same here! I've followed back :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chernern from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice pictures, good weather

Yes, we've been having some nice sunny days! I only did some light editing to brighten the photos a little.

From a fellow Detroiter, thanks for posting this!

I was just talking to another Detroit Steemian about organizing a meetup! If you're interested, I'll keep you posted!

Thank you! That would be cool.

this is amazing, love street art, and love letterings. great shots.

Thank you! I will try to do more street art posts! Following you now!

Some great shots there @chernern

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29