The Greatest Night Of My Life

in #photography6 years ago

This was one of the greatest nights of my life. After a long winter of bad luck and cloudy skies, this night couldn't have happened any better. @dimitri0610 and I witnessed some of the strongest auroral activity we had ever seen.

DSC_9005.jpg

Part 1: Knik River

We embarked from town at 10PM and headed north. A long night lay ahead of us as we planned to drive almost three hours to a viewpoint of the largest mountain in North America, Denali. As we drove, a faint green haze began to form overhead. We stopped at the Knik River Bridge to capture it.

DSC_8906.jpg

DSC_8909.jpg

DSC_8931.jpg

DSC_8943.jpg

DSC_8949.jpg

Part 2: The Corona

We then began our drive north. What followed was one of the greatest displays of Auroral activity I have ever seen. A coronal mass ejection occurs when a significant amount of plasma and magnetic field is propelled from the sun towards earth. It is hard to truly explain what happens when a corona strikes, but I can confidently say it is one of the most awe inspiring experiences you will ever be a part of.

DSC_8961.jpg

DSC_8968.jpg

DSC_8987.jpg

DSC_8991.jpg

DSC_8996.jpg

DSC_8999.jpg

DSC_9005.jpg

DSC_9006.jpg

DSC_9017.jpg

DSC_9022.jpg

DSC_9023.jpg

Part 3: Denali Viewpoint

Our last stop was a small viewpoint located just off the highway. It offered unrestricted views of the mountain but also allowed a heavy wind to bombard us. Nevertheless we braved the cold and witnessed the lights slowly fade away over the tallest mountain in North America.

DSC_9036.jpg

DSC_9090.jpg

DSC_9101.jpg

DSC_9111.jpg

This night is one I will remember forever. We left at 10PM and didn't return until after 7AM when the sun began to rise. A night like this makes all of the other nights where I didn't see anything, worth it. Nights like this rekindle the determination to put in the effort to see the Aurora, more than anything else.

Thank you so much for reading and supporting my work. I hope these photos inspired you to get out and explore. These are some of my favorite pictures I have ever taken of the aurora. If you find them inspiring, please consider resteeming :) If you have questions about capturing the aurora or Alaska in general, I'd love to answer them!

Also, you still have time to enter to win 5 SBD!

-- Chase

Sort:  

Amazing place and amazing shot. I love it and I'm jealous. I got to go, that is a must on my bucket list.

Your work is truly amazing ! i wish i was there, unfortunately i am far far away...

So crazy dude. I dream of seeing the aurora with this intensity someday

Sounds like an awesome night indeed, and you caught Steve!

breathtaking. that´s like really one thing I want to see before I go! 😁

Wow. Absolutely phenomenal. This post needs to 🚀 (resteemed!)

this is awesome, such an Aurora , so so so beautiful. Looks more like the images i see in Avater movie or pokahunters cartoon. the photos are excellent. what kind of camera did you use for such? thanks for sharing. upped

Dude these are freaking amazing shots

Worth every lost hour of sleep. My God what a display. The colour is exquisite. Beautiful work

I am speechless... I´ve never saw auroral activity in real life just in movies like every other one.

This is really amazing! Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful pictures with us.

Did you changed any special settings on your camera for these awesome pictures?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54